HOME US News States
US news 2003 cross country
Foot Locker 2003

Midwest Region
Nov 29, 2003 at UW-Parkside, Kenosha WI

| Preview | Entries | Favorites | Top Returnees | Schedule | Prior Years | the meet's own web site | Results all races |
Photo Albums: John Ceplina - Photo Run's Midwest: 37 great shots from Bizzari to Withrow

BOYS: Matt Withrow IL 14:54
GIRLS: Katelyn Kaltenbach CO 17:29

Matt Withrow stuns Midwest boys - "Matt Withrow knew it was risky and maybe a little too soon, but he couldn’t help himself" Stephen (steveu) Underwood writes about the monster surge in the second mile.

Smoky Hill and Indiana grab 5 of 8 Midwest girls qualifiers - "I haven’t really pushed it yet," Katelyn Kaltenbach tells steveu after running most impressive regional race of the day. South Dakotan Ramsey Kavan, a surprise second, ran without special gear in a Lombardi-like approach to cold weather.

Foot Locker Release

Kenosha, Wis., November 29, 2003 -- Matthew Withrow of Tinley Park, Ill., and Katelyn Kaltenbach of Aurora, Colo., won the Foot Locker Cross Country Championships (FLCCC) Midwest Regional at the University of Wisconsin-Parkside in Kenosha, Wis., today.

In the boys' race, a tight pack of runners set a demanding pace until the two-mile mark, when Withrow pulled ahead to claim the lead to win the Midwest Regional title in 14:54. Withrow placed 14th in last year's Regional race. Ryan Deak of Aurora, Colo., finished second in 15:14, with Garrett Heath of Winona, Minn., placing third in 15:15. Last year, Deak resided in Tallahassee, Fla., and competed in the South Regional, placing third and 12th at the National Finals. Heath, also a two-time qualifier, placed fourth in last year's Midwest Regional and sixth at the National Finals.

In the girls' race, a close pack of runners held tight through the first mile, with Amber Smith of Ishpeming, Mich., leading in 5:47. Katelyn Kaltenbach, a junior at Smoky Hill High School, made her move after the two mile-mark to capture the lead and the Midwest Regional title in 17:29. Kaltenbach is a two-time FLCCC National qualifier, placing fifth in last year's Regional race and seventh at the National Finals. Newcomer Ramsey Kavan of Yankton, S.D., placed second in 17:34, with Sunni Olding of Minster, Ohio, finishing closely at her heels in 17:35. Olding, a two-time FLCCC National qualifier, placed sixth in last year's Regional race and tenth at the National Finals. Smith, who fell behind, placed tenth in 17:57.

The runners enjoyed good racing conditions with temperatures in the mid-20s under overcast skies and a light but persistent breeze.

Steve Underwood sees surprises and showdowns in Kenosha

Midwest Foot Locker Favorites - the runners we believe have the best chance of making it to San Diego.

Top Returnees
Undergrads with DyeStat Elite marks (16:05 and 19:05 or better) at last year's regional.
Nine of top 12 girls return, plus Angela Bizzarri, who ran the Frosh/Soph race.
4 Heath, Garrett 2004, Winona MN 15:31 seeded
5 Wagner, Christian 2004, Columbus N. IN 15:41 seeded
12 Ealy, John 2004, Reynoldsburg OH 15:57 seeded
13 Krisch, Mike 2005, Hopkins MN 15:58 seeded
14 Withrow, Matt 2004, Andrew TP IL 16:01 seeded
15 Tinney, Frank 2004, Huron AA MI 16:01 seeded
2 Smith, Amber 2004, Westwood Ish MI 18:10 seeded
4 Harrington, Katie 2004, Carmel IN 18:18 seeded
5 Kaltenbach, Katelyn 2005, Smoky Hill CO 18:24 seeded
1 Bizzarri, Angela 2006, Mason OH 18:28 Fr/So
6 Olding, Sunni 2004, Minster OH 18:30 seeded
7 Bohnsack, Nikki 2004, Rockford MI 18:31 seeded
8 Honeyman, Staci 2004, Bowman ND 18:31 seeded
9 Bush, Nicole 2004, Kelloggsville MI 18:33 seeded
11 Eckerly, Julie 2004, Columbus N. IN 18:39 seeded
14 Bergstedt, Shannon 2004, Hopkins MN 18:47 seeded
16 Ensrud, Sara 2004, Gering NE 18:52 seeded
17 Schulz, Morgan 2005, Smoky Hill CO 18:55 seeded
18 Snow, Meredith 2006, Millard W. Omaha NE 18:56 seeded
21 Zemlick, Elisa 2004, Loy Norris Kzoo MI 19:01 seeded
22 Follett, Katie 2006, Fort Collins CO 19:03 seeded
26 Funk, Jennie 2004, Iowa City IA 19:05 seeded


10:00 a.m.    Freshman/Sophomore Boys
10:45 a.m.    Girls Seeded
11:30 a.m.    Boys Seeded

12:15 p.m.    Freshman/Sophomore Girls
1:00 p.m.    Junior/Senior Boys
1:45 p.m.    Nike Open
2:45 p.m.    Awards Ceremony

Prior Years

  • 2002 - Chris Solinsky and Megan Kaltenbach survive bitter cold and winds.

    photos by John Ceplina

  • .
  • 2001 - Tim Moore and Erika Odlaug cruise in the mud
  • .
  • 2000 - Dathan Ritzenhein takes course record down another 20 seconds. Penny Splichal is easy girls winner.
  • 1999 - Dathan Riztenhein is first under 15 minutes at Parkside; Victoria Jackson wins by 14 seconds.


Foot Locker Championships home page




is published by
John Dye

Baltimore MD