The Internet Home of Track & Field

Heartland Region
November 15, 2008 at Sioux Falls SD

Iowa - Kansas - Minnesota - Nebraska - 
North Dakota - South Dakota - Wisconsin

Two teams and five individuals will qualify for NXN national finals December 6, 2008 at Portland OR. 
Heartland Team Rankings - October 2
Rankings by Marc Bloom and Rich Gonzalez; distributed by NSSF

Griak wins propel Bismarck ND boys and Sioux Falls Roosevelt SD girls to #1

Last week's ranking in parentheses.  BT=bubble team.  NR=not ranked


1.Bismarck (ND) [2] Wins Griak Inv by 33 as previous #1 Wayzata takes 3rd

2.Wayzata (MN) [1]  3rd at Griak meet

3.Eden Prairie (MN) [3]     No major meet

4.Stevens Point (WI) [5]Wins Manitowoc Inv running 2-3-4-5-6 with 37-second spread

5.Madison West (WI) [BT]   4th at Griak meet

6.Edina (MN) [4]   5th at Griak meet

7.Mulvane (KS) [NR]   ’07 state 4A champs place 4th at Rim Rock Classic behind Missouri schools

8.College Hts Christian (MO) [NR] ’07 state 1A champs place 5th at Rim Rock

9.Yankton (SD) [10] Wins home invite taking 6 of top 7 places

10.Iowa City (IA) [BT]  6th at Griak meet

Cut: Shawnee Mission NW (KS) [6], Aquinas (KS) [7], Manhattan (KS) [8], Fremont (NE) [9]

Bubble teams alphabetically: Alexandria (MN), Aquinas (KS), Fremont (NE), Kearney (NE), Madison-La Follette (WI), Manhattan (KS), Moorhead (MN), Owatonna (MN), Shawnee Mission NW (KS), Sioux Falls Roosevelt (SD), Valley (IA), Wamego (KS).

1.Sioux Falls Roosevelt (SD) [BT]  Wins multi-state Griak (MN) Inv over regional powers

2.Dowling Cath (IA) [1]   3rd at Griak meet

3.Lakeville North (MN) [2]  4th at Griak meet

4.Iowa City High (IA) [NR]  5th at Griak meet

5.Eden Prairie (MN) [3]  No major meet

6.Bismarck (ND) [6]  6th at Griak meet

7.Whitefish Bay (WI) [7] 7th at Griak meet

8.Iowa City West (IA) [8]  2nd at Rim Rock (KS) Classic

9.Manhattan (KS) [BT]   3rd at Rim Rock, 1 point behind Iowa City West

10.Minnetonka (MN) [4]    No major meet

Cut: Lakeville So (MN) [5], Lawrence (KS) [9], Yankton (SD) [10]

Bubble teams alphabetically: Blue Valley NW (KS), Eastview (MN), Hopkins (MN), Lakeville So (MN), Lawrence Free State (KS), Lincoln Pius X (NE), Marian (NE), Millard No (NE), Olathe East (KS), Shakopee (MN), Urbandale (IL), Yankton (SD)