The Internet Home of Track & Field

NXN Heartland Region

Heartland Region
Regional Meet: November 15, 2008 at Sioux Falls SD

Iowa - Kansas - Minnesota - Nebraska - North Dakota - South Dakota - Wisconsin (Heartland trades Missouri for Wisconsin this year)

Two teams and five individuals per gender qualified for the NXN national finals December 6, 2008 at Portland OR.
(links to details)

NXN Finals Qualifiers

hundreds of pix
of the sideline scenes


60 deep in both championship races



Entries - Box Assignments
Rankings - Schedule
Prior Years
the meet's own web site

Kristi Rieger  [email protected]

HL#2 teams win -- Wayzata MN boys, Eden Prairie MN girls.  HL#1 teams finish 2nd and also qualify for nationals -- Bismarck ND boys,Roosevelt Sioux Falls SD girls.  Jakub Zivec MN and Ashlie Decker IA win individual titles, each pulling away in the last mile from the defending champions --Joash Osoro ND and Katie Flood IA.

Girls Championship
- Every Runner Counts - Eden Prairie and Roosevelt Sioux Falls overcome Dowling Catholic's 1-2 punch with better team balance. 

Boys Championship - From JV to Nationals - Jakub Zivec of Grand Rapids MN came to the US from the Czech Republic this year.  Because he was not an official exchange student, the Minnesota association ruled him ineligible for varsity sports.  He ran in JV and open races, recording a sub-15 time for 5k.  Now he is going to NXN national finals. 

It was a brisk 35-degree day that felt colder during the championship races as the sun disappeared behind clouds and the wind picked up.

 Jakub Zivec
Ashlie Decker
 Defending champ Joash Osoro broke away from a 10-runner pack in the second mile, but Zivec went with him and took the lead with 1000 meters to go.
 Decker and teammate Katie Flood, who won this race last year, ran side by side until Decker broke away in the last 300 meters.
  photos by John Dye

 Qualifiers to NXN national finals in Portland Dec. 6
(3rd and 4th place teams are eligible for selection as a national at large team)
 Boys Teams
1. Wayzata MN 62
2. Demon XC (Bismarck ND) 65

3. Yankton SD 121
4. Eden Prairie MN 145
Girls Teams
1. Eden Prairie MN 45
2. Sioux Falls XC (Roosevelt) 96

3. Dowling Catholic IA 98
4. Demon XC (Bismarck ND) 99
 Boys Individuals
1. Jakub Zivec MN 15:24
2. Lukas Gemar MN 15:37
3. Mahad Hassan MN 15:40
4. Brett Kelly WI 15:42
5. Drew Paradis MN 15:45
Girls Individuals
1. Ashlie Decker IA 17:53
2. Katie Flood IA 18:00
3. Jamie Piepenburg MN 18:07
4. Kelli Budd NE 18:14
5. Brecca Wahlund ND 18:32

 Winners Table (click event name for results, stories and pix)
 Boys Championship
 Wayzata MN 62 (Bismarck ND 65).  Jakub Zivec MN 15:24 (Joash Osoro ND 15:29)
 Girls Championship
 Eden Prairie MN 45 (Roosevelt Sioux Falls 96, Dowling Catholic IA 98). Ashlie Decker IA 17:53 (Katie Flood IA 18:00)
 Boys Open
 Wayzata MN 41. Shane Warehime, NW Iowa 16:35
 Girls Open
 Adrian X-Tra Mile 37 (Wayzata 40).  Nikkii Huelsman 11, unattached 19:33
 Boys Frosh-Soph
 Knights XC 50 (Wayzata 64, Demon 65).  Bryant Blahnik 10, Red Wing 16:40
 Girls Frosh-Soph
 Wayzata MN 16.  Carolyn Newhouse 9, unattached 20:14

Eight state champion teams, nine state champion runners head powerhouse field.
Bismarck ND boys, Roosevelt Sioux Falls SD girls, Joash Osoro, Ashlie Decker are favored.

Heartland #1 Bismarck is led by Joash Osoro, ranked 10th in the US by in SteveU's Top 25.  Roosevelt has been Heartland #1 all year.  Ashlie Decker beat Dowling Catholic teammate Katie Flood, the defending regional champion, in the Iowa state meet by 35 seconds at 4k.  Seven of the top 10 Heartland teams in both boys and girls rankings are on hand.

A strong challenger to Osoro in the boys race will be Jakub Zivec of Grand Rapids MN, a sub-15 minute 5k runner.  He came to the US this year from the Czech Republic but was not allowed to compete with his high school because he isn't an official foreign exchange student. 

State champions:

Boys - HL#1 Bismarck, ND Class A; HL#2 Wayzata, MN 2A; HL#7 Yankton, SD 2A; HL#10 Pleasant Valley, IA 4A; Joash Osoro, Bismarck, ND A; Josh Heitkamp, Sioux Falls Washington, SD 2A; Drew Sikkema, Prince of Peace, IA 1A; Josh Harsin, Blair, NE B; and Jarren Heng, Norfolk Catholic, NE C. 

Girls - HL#1 Roosevelt Sioux Falls, SD 2A; HL#2 Eden Prairie, MN 2A; HL#3 Dowling Catholic Desmoines, IA 4A; HL#8 Bismarck, ND A; Ashlie Decker, Dowling Catholic, IA 4A; Aubree Worden, Scottsbluff, NE B; Kelli Budd, Marian Omaha, NE A; Mackenzie Maki, Kapaun Mt. Carmel, KS 5A. 

 Last year:

Joash Osoro, Bismarck ND, and Katie Flood, Dowling Catholic, DesMoines IA, were the individual winners. Both return this year with contending teams.  Bismarck boys are ranked #1 in the Heartland this year and Dowling Catholic girls are ranked 3rd.  
Joash Osoro

Katie Flood


Friday, Nov. 14th 

7:00pm Pre-Event Dinner at Augustana College.

Saturday, Nov. 15th
10:30am- Freshman/Sophomore Girls
11:15am- Freshman/Sophomore Boys
12:00pm- Open Girls
12:45pm- Open Boys
1:30pm- 3K Community Race
2:00pm- 5k Community Race
2:45pm- Championship Girls
3:30pm-Championship Boys
4:15pm- Awards

Friday, November 14th, 2008 Noon-5pm Clubhouse Hotel and Suites, 2320 S. Louise Ave.
Saturday November 15th, 2008 8:00am Yankton Trail Park (the course)

NXN index page