The Internet Home of Track & Field

Heartland Region
Regional meet November 15, 2008 at Sioux Falls SD

Iowa - Kansas - Minnesota - Nebraska - 
North Dakota - South Dakota - Wisconsin

Two teams and five individuals will qualify for NXN national finals December 6, 2008 at Portland OR. 
Heartland Team Rankings - October 30
Rankings by Marc Bloom and Rich Gonzalez; distributed by NSSF

#1 Bismarck ND boys, Roosevelt Sioux Falls SD girls win state meets; NXN regional is next.

Last week's ranking in parentheses.  BT=bubble team.  NR=not ranked

1.Bismarck (ND) [1]    Wins State Class A title by 78 points
2.Wayzata (MN) [2]      Wins Section 6A by 23 over Eden Prairie, state meet Sat
3.Eden Prairie (MN) [3]  2nd to Wayzata in sectional with 13-second spread, state meet Sat
4.Stevens Point (WI) [4]   Wins sectional with 24 points, state meet Sat
5.Madison West (WI) [5]   Wins sectional over La Follette in another close one, state meet Sat
6.Edina (MN) [6]    3rd to Wayzata and Eden Prairie in sectional, state meet Sat
7.Madison-La Follette (WI) [7]  2nd by 6 to West in sectional, state meet Sat
8.Yankton (SD) [10]      Wins State 2A by 48 in best race of season
9.Mulvane (KS) [8]     Wins regional running 2-3-4-5-9, state meet Sat
10.Shawnee Mission NW (KS) [BT]   Wins regional with 4 in top 10, state meet Sat

Cut: Iowa City High (IA) [9]                       

Bubble teams alphabetically: Aquinas (KS), Ames (IA), Burlington (IA), Chaska (MN), Fremont (NE), Iowa City High (IA), Kearney (NE), Millard West (NE), Moorhead (MN), Owatonna (MN), Pleasant Valley (IA), Rapid City Stevens (SD), White Bear Lake (MN)

1.Sioux Falls Roosevelt (SD) [1]    Wins State 2A title by 28 points with 5 in top 14
2.Dowling Cath (IA) [2]     Wins District 4A with 21 points, holding out Katie Flood, state meet Sat
3.Eden Prairie (MN) [3]   Wins Section 6AA with 24 points, state meet Sat
4.Lakeville North (MN) [4] Wins Section 1AA by 42 points, state meet Sat
5.Iowa City High (IA)    [5]  Wins district meet with 27 points, state meet Sat
6.Iowa City West (IA) [6]    Wins district meet taking 4 of top 7, state meet Sat
7.Bismarck (ND) [7]    Wins State A title by 38 points with 31-second spread for 4k
8.Whitefish Bay (WI) [8]     Wins Brookfield Section decisively over top field, state meet Sat
9.Manhattan (KS) [9]     Wins Junction City Regional taking 6 of top 12, state meet Sat
10.Minnetonka (MN) [10]  2nd to Eden Prairie in sectional, state meet Sat

Bubble teams alphabetically: Aberdeen (SD), Bay Port (WI), Blue Valley NW (KS), Chaska (MN), Derby (KS), Hopkins (MN), La Crosse Central (WI), Lawrence Free State (KS),  Norfolk (NE), Olathe East (KS), Olathe South (KS), Pewaukee (WI), Scottsbluff (NE), Yankton (SD), Waukesha West (WI), White Bear Lake (MN), Woodbury (MN), Yankton (SD)