- HOME - US News - States - Calendar - Rankings - Features - Youth - Message Board - Chat Room -

DyeStat Cross Country 2000

March 24-25, 2001 at Ostend Belgium

29th IAAF World 
Cross Country Championships 

preps Ritzenhein, Maline, Zeigle, Craig, 
and de la Vina compete for US in Belgium

Five high school athletes are on the United States teams that are among 900 runners from 70 countries competing in the 29th IAAF World Cross Country Championships at Ostend, Belgium.  

Transferred from Dublin because of the foot and mouth disease problems, the meet moved to Ostend, Belgium on 2 weeks notice.   In addition to the short notice, meet managers have faced other difficulties from heavy rains that turned the course in a quagmire and threats of bus and train strikes to disrupt transportation.  The course is a historic seaside location that was once a fort for the Duke of Wellington.  When coastal invasions were no longer an issue, the site was turned into a recreational facility that includes the Wellington Hippodrome.  

Runners at Ostend will be challenged by near freezing temperatures, mud, long grasses, and a stiff headwind off the ocean at the finish.  

US teams were selected at the US Winter Nationals in Vancouver WA in February.  The junior races (under age 20) saw non pareil Dathan Ritzenhein of Rockford MI lose his first race in 2 years to college freshman Matt Tegenkamp, and Bingham UT jr Laura Zeigle was a surprise winner of the junior women.  Joining Ritzenhein and Zeigle as high school members of the US junior teams were Matt Maline of Oakton VA, Alicia Craig of Campbell County WY, and Michelle de la Vina of Valparaiso IN.   

US junior qualifiers and their Vancouver times:

US Junior men:

   1   370 Tegenkamp, Matt        19 Unattached          4:51    24:09.00

   2   345 Ritzenhein, Dathan     18 Unattached          4:51    24:11.10

   3   221 Dobson, Ian            19 Stanford Universit  4:55    24:29.00

   4   366 Spiker, Josh           18 Unattached          4:58    24:43.60

   5   250 Cabada, Fernando       18 Unattached          4:59    24:47.20

   6   315 Maline, Matthew        18 Unattached          5:02    25:03.10

Ritzenhein (L) and Tegenkamp at Vancouver

US Junior Women

 1   387   Zeigle, Laura          16 Asc Striders        5:42    21:18.40

 2   220   Chang, Victoria        19 Stanford Universit  5:46    21:30.30

 3   259   Craig, Alicia          18 Unattached          5:50    21:46.60

 4   382   Williams, Alisha       19 Western Slope Runn  5:52    21:54.60

 5   245   Blakeslee, Emily       18 Unattached          5:52    21:55.50

 6   263   de la Vina, Michelle   18 Unattached          6:00    22:23.50

Laura Zeigle at the 2001 National Scholastic Indoor 
Championships in New York.  (Photo by Victah Sailor)

US Men's Team

Long Race

516    Abdirahman Abdihakem
525    Downin Matt
528    Jimmerson Gregory
529    Keflezighi Mebrahtom
530    Kennedy Bob
535    Rogers Nicholas

Short Race

Bib    Athlete
518    Broe Tim
519    Browne Daniel
521    Cosey Anthony
524    Downin Andrew
527    Hauser Bradley
539    Wells Clint


US Women's Team

Long Race

Bib    Athlete
963    Chisum Kristen
967    Drossin Deena
969    Eichner-Taylor Clare
977    Peters Annette
978    Rhines Jennifer
983    Woeller-Baker Laura

Short Race

Bib    Athlete
968    Dryer Elva
971    Goddard-Kenah Cheri
973    Ihle-Helledy Kristin
974    Karnopp-Nye Lisa
976    Liss Collette
979    Schwald Sarah


Return to DyeStat US page




This web site is edited and published
by John Dye. For corrections, news,
zany off the wall comments, friendly jibes, hostile pot shots, or welcome praise, send email to John Dye at [email protected] .

©DyeNet LLC 2000-2001