The Internet Home of Track & Field

Heartland Region
Regional meet November 15, 2008 at Sioux Falls SD

Iowa - Kansas - Minnesota - Nebraska - 
North Dakota - South Dakota - Wisconsin

Two teams and five individuals will qualify for NXN national finals December 6, 2008 at Portland OR. 
Heartland Team Rankings - November 6
Rankings by Marc Bloom and Rich Gonzalez; distributed by NSSF

#1 Bismarck ND boys, Roosevelt Sioux Falls SD girls hold firm

Last week's ranking in parentheses.  BT=bubble team.  NR=not ranked

1.Bismarck (ND) [1]   Previously won State Class A for undefeated regular season
2.Wayzata (MN) [2]     Wins State 2A by 51 with tight pack setting up regional re-match with Bismarck
3.Eden Prairie (MN) [3]   2nd in State 2A, well ahead of rest of field
4.Stevens Point (WI) [4]  Wins State Div I by 11 points over Madison West
5.Madison West (WI) [5]   Solid 2nd to Stevens Point in State Div I
6.Lawrence (KS) [NR]     Wins State 6A to stop SM Northwest 16-year streak with best race of season
7.Yankton (SD) [8]    Previously won State 2A
8.Shawnee Mission NW (KS) [10]  2nd by 9 points to Lawrence in State 6A
9.Edina (MN) [6]   Previously 3rd to Wayzata and Eden P. in sectional, non-qualifier for state
10.Pleasant Valley (IA) [BT]  Wins state 4A by 19 over previously-ranked Iowa City for repeat title

Cut: Madison-La Follette (WI) [7], Mulvane (KS) [9]

Bubble teams alphabetically: Aquinas (KS), Burlington (IA), Fremont (NE), Iowa City High (IA), Kearney (NE), Millard West (NE), Moorhead (MN), Mulvane (KS), Owatonna (MN), Rapid City Stevens (SD), White Bear Lake (MN), Wichita-Haysville (KS)

1.Sioux Falls Roosevelt (SD) [1]  Previously won State 2A title
2.Eden Prairie (MN) [3]    Wins State 2A by 63 over Lakeville North led by victorious Cassy Opitz
3.Dowling Cath (IA) [2]   Wins State 4A by 22 over Iowa City High with Decker-Flood running 1-2
4.Lakeville North (MN) [4]  2nd to Eden Prairie in State 2A
5.Iowa City High (IA) [5]     2nd to Dowling in State 4A
6.Whitefish Bay (WI) [8]     Wins State Div I by 54 points
7.Iowa City West (IA) [6]    3rd in State 4A
8.Bismarck (ND) [7]    Previously won State class A title
9.Derby (KS) [BT]         Wins State 6A by 20 over Manhattan
10.Manhattan (KS) [9]   2nd to Derby in state 6A

Cut: Minnetonka (MN) [10]

Bubble teams alphabetically: Aberdeen (SD), Janesville Craig (WI), Johnston (IA), Lawrence Free State (KS), Minnetonka (MN), Moorhead (MN), Norfolk (NE), Olathe East (KS), Olathe South (KS), Onalaska (WI), Pewaukee (WI), Scottsbluff (NE), Shawnee Mission So (KS), Woodbury (MN), Yankton (SD)