The Internet Home of Track & Field

NSAA Nebraska State Championships

Kearney Country Club, Kearny NE

Friday, Oct. 23, 2009
Results - Boys - Girls
From onlineraceresults.com, timing by ChampionChip Minnesota
Race Distance: Boys-5K, Girls-4K
Schedule - NSAA Page - Online Race Results Page

4 for Norfolk Cath. boys in 'C'; Seward girls win 1st in 'B'
Aubree Worden ('B' record), Jarren Heng are fastest of the day

Team Champs
  • Class A - Millard West boys 76 over Fremont 105; Norfolk girls 67 over Millard West 74
  • Class B - Lexington boys 61 over York 75; Seward girls 30 over Lincoln Pius X 45
  • Class C - Norfolk Catholic boys 27 over Ogallala 43; Ft. Calhoun girls 46 over Pierce 51
  • Class D - Hastings St. Cecilia boys 50 over Ainsworth 57; Crofton girls 30 over Lindsay Holy Family/Newman Grove 50
Boys Highlights
  • The dominant Norfolk Catholic program won its 4th straight title in Class C, scoring 27 to top Ogallala (43, dropping down from Class B) and the rest of the field (4-runner scoring).  Catholic sr Jarren Heng led the winners with his 2nd straight individual title, running 16:05.44 for the fastest time of the day in all classes.  Catholic also had the best average of the day with 16:57.46
  • Millard West won its second straight Class A title, scoring 76 to runner-up Fremont's 105.  The winners had the best 5-man average with 17:02.94 and were led by Anthony Pittman's runner-up finish (same as he had in '08).  North Platte jr Brady McGuire improved from 9th a year ago and won the individual title in 16:14.5, while last year's champ - Parker Schoen of Lincoln Southwest, was 3rd despite running 4 seconds faster than last year
  • Lexington, 3rd last year, used a 40-second spread to win the 'B' title with 61 (4-man), with York's 75 winning a tight battle for 2nd.  Blair sr Connor Gibson won in 16:30.2, improving from 10th a year ago and becoming the 2nd straight from his school to win.  Last year's champ, Ogallala, moved down to 'C' and was 2nd to Norfolk Catholic
  • Hastings St. Cecilia won its first 'D' title with 50 pts to Ainsworth's 57.  Defending champ Lindsay Holy Family/Newman Grove was 3rd.  Gibbon soph Dillon Eckel won with 16:55.9, beating defending champ Kevin Weeder of LHF/NG
Girls Highlights
  • Scottsbluff jr Aubree Worden won her 2nd straight Class B title in 14:45.4, the best time of the day, a Class B record, and the third best by anyone in state meet history.  Only Emily Sisson has run faster since 1991
  • Seward had the best girls team performance of the day, averaging 15:44.01 to win Class B with 30 points (4-man scoring), 45 up on Lincoln Pius X, with Gretna just 3 more behind.  Seward also had a fast enough 5th girl to have won a 5-runner scoring overall average.  It was their first state title as they moved up from 4th last year, and they were led by the 1-2 punch of Kelsey Christensen and Hannah Tvrdy in 2nd and 3rd
  • Norfolk defended its Class A title behind individual champ Emilee Aschoff (15:34.0) with 67, seven points up on Millard West.  Aschoff, a junior, did not run on last year's winners
  • In Class C, Fort Calhoun turned the tables on Pierce, reversing last year's 1-2 finish and winning their 3rd title in 4 years.  Wahoo soph Michaela Curran improved a spot from 2nd and supplanted her now-graduated sister Erin as state champ, winning in 15:46.7
  • Crofton won its 4th straight title in Class D, scoring 30 to win by 20 over Lindsay Holy Family/Newman Grove.  The runner-ups had the individual winner in soph Andrea Weeder (15:18.1).  Although brother Kevin was not quite able to make it a family double again, Weeder won her 2nd straight title


Girls Class C — 12:00 Noon | Girls Class D — 2:00 pm
Girls Class A — 12:30 pm | Girls Class B — 2:30 pm
Boys Class C — 1:00 pm | Boys Class D — 3:00 pm
Boys Class A — 1:30 pm | Boys Class B — 3:30 pm

Heartland Index