The Internet Home of Track & Field

NDHSAA North Dakota
State Championships

Valley City, ND

Saturday Oct. 24, 2009
From www.onlineraceresults.com 
Boys Results - Girls Results
Race Distance: Boys 5k, Girls 4k

Bismarck sweeps for third straight year
Class A champs Christian Brownotter, Tarin Lachowitzer are day's fastest

The Bismarck Demons swept the Class A meet for the third straight year, with dominant performances from both boys and girls squads.
Photos from Bismarck High XC website

Team Champs:
  • Class A - Bismarck boys 21 over Century 105; Bismarck girls 32 over Fargo South 79 
  • Class B - Rugby boys 64 over New Town 93; Watford City girls 82 over Griggs County Central 109

Class A Highlights
  • In a performance even more dominating than last year's Joash Osoro-led 34-point victory, the US#33/HL#3 Bismarck boys rolled convincingly to their 5th-straight state title with 21 points featuring all five scorers in the top 7, and 8 finishers in the top 11.
  • Bismarck senior Christian Brownotter led his team's victory with a 15:38.64 individual win over Century senior Brett Kelly's 15:42.69.
  • The HL#8 Bismarck girls were nearly as dominant, winning their third straight title with 32 points to outdistance runner-up Fargo South's 79 behind seniors Taylor Pintar (14:57.15) and Shanice Lambert (15:02.60) in 2nd and 3rd place.
  • Tarin Lachowitzer (Fargo South soph)  took the individual win in 14:53.55, while teammate and 2:03 800 talent Laura Roesler was 5th in 15:08.25.
Class B Highlights
  • Behind an 8-9 finish from Kyle Volk (17:31.62) and Dylan Yoder (17:34.07), Rugby flipped the script on the 2008 Boys Class B finish, topping '08 champs New Town 64-93 in the team race.  New Town senior Justin Many Ribs took individual laurels in 16:22.02.
  • Sibee Jokela's fifth place finish in 15:35.77 led Watford City to the girls Class B title over Griggs County Central, 82 to 109. Eighth grader Chandra Yankton of Dunseith won the individual trophy in 15:12.17

Heartland Index