The Internet Home of Track & Field

Jesse Owens Classic

9th Annual staging of the mid-season Alabama meet

Saturday October 6, 2007

Oakville Indian Mounds Cross Country Course, Lawrence County, AL

Meet's own site


Host Hotel


Start List

Prior Years on DyeStat

Decatur-Austin AL's Jennifer Dunn and McEachern GA Ben Hubers: fastest in '06  Photos by Steve Bedsole

12 Divisions:

Team Awards
Individual Awards
 Gold 5k Unlimited Open - Elite (Best of the Best)
 Top 5
 Top 70
 Silver 5k Top 7
 Large (5A - 6A, AL)
Enrollment of 427 or more 10-12
 Top 5
 Top 70
 Bronze 5k Unlimited Small (1A - 4A, AL)
Enrollment of 427 or less 10-12
 Top 5
 Top 70
 Red 5k "B" team, unlimited
 Large schools' runners
not running w/ top 7 in Silver
 Top 2
 Top 40
 Jr High (Lg)
 2.1 miles
 Unlimited Grades 7-9
 Top 5
 Top 70
 Jr High (Sm)
 2.1 miles
 Unlimited Grades 7-9
 Top 5
 Top 40

* We follow the standards of the AHSAA, therefore out of state private schools must multiply enrollment by 1.35% (grades 10-12) to determine Division. (Varsity)
* To determine the Jr. High Division:
1) If Jr. High is housed in High School, your division will be same as High School;
2) If Jr. High/Middle is a separate identity, then small school is 426 students and below in grades 7-9 and large school is 427 students and above in grades 7-9.

Register Online: Go to www.cfpitiming.com, click on the Jesse Owens Logo, & follow the instructions carefully. You must request a username and password from www.cfpitiming.com. Once you have registered with CFPI (during the season) you will only need to manage your roster next time you participate in a race whereas CFPI is scoring that particular race.
Individual Runners - $10.00

Please send Race Fee ASAP to:
Stan D. Johnson
Lawrence County High School
102 College Street
Moulton, AL 35650
([email protected]) 256-905-2440 (school), 256-566-4410 (cell), 256-974-1529 (home)

*Please write checks payable to Jesse Owens Runners' Club, Inc.

AHSAA & NFHS Sanctioned. Plus, any state who wishes to participate.


Several individual awards will be presented at the finish line to speed up the awards ceremony.

- 12 Divisions!
- Over 1000 Awards!
- Overall winner in each division wins a trophy!
- Top 10 finishers in each division receive a special award!
- The winning team and coach in each division receive special team T-shirts!
- Each coach gets a T-shirt, complimentary running packet, and access to our hospitality room!
- Refreshments for runners upon completion of the race (sports drink & water)
- Plenty of Medics are available!
- Fast electronic finish results!
- Top Tennessee Valley Runner receives an award!
- Top Tennessee Valley Team receives a trophy!
- Alabama's BEST Team receives an award!

- Directed by Coach Stan D. Johnson (Lawrence County High School)
- Course clerked by DeWayne Key and William Calvert, Ala. Championship State Meet Directors.
- T-shirts will be on sale. The ones for sale will be different from the award T-shirts.
- Shower facilities available.
- Mile splits, overhead mile markers
- The State Championship Course: Some shade, 5-6 short hills, grass, packed small gravel, very scenic, wooded trails, fast, great spectating and a great wide starting area!

* Results will be posted on the internet by late Saturday afternoon at www.cfpitiming.com where you can also find previous years' race results in the Archive Section.

Jesse Owens Classic Index