The Internet Home of Track & Field

TSSAA Tennessee State Championships

Percy Warner Park, Nashville TN

November 1, 2008
From tssaa.org) - Boys - Girls
Race Distance: 5K

Kroeger wins AAA by 91 sec in 17:09
Bill Matthews (Baylor) 15:39 fastest boy as Baylor sweeps Div II-AA

Team Champs:
  • Class AAA - Houston boys 99 over Morristown West 105; Science Hill girls 50 over Oak Ridge 58
  • Class A-AA - MLK boys 89 over Station Camp 99; University Johnson girls 102 over Knoxville Catholic 109
  • Class Div II-AA - Baylor boys 51 over Montgomery Bell 82; Baylor girls 45 over Brentwood Academy 51
  • Class Div II-A - University Nashville boys 49 over Harding 56; University Nashville girls 29 over Harding 29

Class AAA Highlights
  • Matt Sonnenfeldt (Knoxville West sr) represented well in the absence of his team with a winning finish time of 15:42, a 10-second improvement over last year's 15:52 second place; Maryville junior Clint Mckelvey claimed second in 15:57
  • Houston boys returned after a 2007 second place finish to win with a solid pack and no real front runner; Morristown West right on their trail coming up just six points high for second
  • Independence senior Kathy Kroeger, 2006 Footlocker Champion currently ranked #3 in the nation, dominated as expected with a 91-second victory. Her finish time of 17:08.93 was just nine seconds off her 2006 record. Allie Scalf (Science Hill sr) was second in 18:39 leading her team to first
  • Science Hill girls put three in the top nine for strong push to take the win with 50 points; Oak Ridge finished second with 58 points, each of their runners finishing behind their Science Hill counterpart
Class A-AA Highlights
  • 1-2 deja-vu, but faster. Brandon Mahaney (Macon County sr) finishes first bettering last year's finish by six seconds for 16:18.61; Mark Cole (McKenzie sr) second again also improving by twelve seconds for his 16:32.49
  • Martin Luther King boys front load and manage to hold on, beating Station Camp 89-99 and moving up on the podium from last year's second place finish
  • Miranda Klein (David Lipscomb jr) ran 19:36 edging out University School Johnson sophomore Audrey Hazlehurst 19:37, runner-up for the second consecutive year
  • USJ pulled out the repeat win over Knoxville Catholic (102/109) by staying strong through the fifth man
Class Div II-AA Highlights
  • Bill Matthews (sr) and Brandon Lord (jr) both of Baylor finished 1-2 (15:39.41/16:23) , shifting up from their 2007 finishing places of 2 and 4 2007
  • Baylor boys score three in the top ten to repeat 2007 win with a smaller margin, 51 to Montgomery Bell Academy's 82
  • St. Agnes sophomore Kacey Nobert claims her second consecutive state title with a time of 18:54.37; Amber Zimmerman (Webb-School Knox jr) follows for another year taking second place honors with her 19:11.97
  • Baylor girls run nearly man-for-man putting their five before Brentwood Academy's fifth to earn the team title 45 to 51
Class Div II-A Highlights
  • Ian Trupin (University School of Nashville sr) stepped up from last year's runner-up position to the top of the podium with his winning time of 16:50.88 and helping his team to victory; Daniel Shaver (St. Andrew's sr) finished second in 17:36.82
  • University School of Nashville boys win again, this year with 49 points over Harding Academy's 56; USN's three in the top ten kept Harding who put five in front of USN's 4th from catching up
  • Keeley Stewart (St. Andrew's so) duplicates her freshman year state performance by claiming the top spot in 21:00.12; Harding Academy packed in 2,3, and 5 for a dominant front pack
  • University School of Nashville girls put seven runners ahead of Harding Academy's fifth, allowing the victory that hinged on the sixth man tie-breaker to go to USN

Southeast Index