Midwest Meet Of Champions

Saturday, September 9th, 2006, Hilliard OH
DyeStat On-Site with Steve Underwood

2006 Results

Meet Preview

Entry Information

Meet Site

Previous Years:


Local Information



Woodridge OH boys, Bowling Green OH girls,
Emil Heineking, Bekah Smeltzer claim 2006 titles!

  • Woodridge, favorites to win D2 state title, tops MW#5 LaSalle OH boys, 50-79
  • Defending OH state champ/MW#7 Bowling Green beats Cincinnati St. Ursala Academy, 74-90
  • Chardon OH sr Emil Heineking takes lead before mile, rolls to victory in 15:14
  • Monroe (MI) Jefferson sr Rebekah Smeltzer outkicks BG's Christy Titus for victory in 18:14-18:23.

NEW-Meet Story - Championship Results - More pix coming

MEET PREVIEW - by Scott Alpeter

Welcome to the 2006 Midwest Meet of Champions Cross Country Invitational.  This year’s edition is a joint venture by both high schools in the Hilliard City School District. 


The course is around the Hilliard Darby North Athletic Fields and crosses the Hilliard Rails to Trails Bike Path.  The course is set up on a World Cross Country format with two 2k loops with a start and finish.  The entire course is on grass with excellent footing. Markings on the course will be a double solid white line.  The course will be set up on Thursday night and ready for course inspections on Friday.  Please remember that school will be in session that day and parking will be at a minimum until 3:00 PM after the parking lot is clear.  Parking for course inspection is available at the Wilcox Garage through the Weston Trails neighborhood. See Course Map

Entries / Results:

All entries are due to www.baumspage.com by 7:00 PM on Wednesday September 7, 2006. Each team can enter 7 runners in the Race of Champions and unlimited runners in the Open and 9/10th grade team races. Meet results will be posted Baumspage and Dyestat.com later that night or you can pick them up before you leave. Results will also be posted for the general public near the concession stands.


  9:30 AM          Boys Freshman/Sophomore Race
10:00 AM          Girls Freshman/Sophomore Race
10:30 AM          Boys Race of Champions
11:00 AM          Girls Race of Champions
11:30 AM          Boys Open Race
12:00 PM          Girls Open Race
12:30 PM          Awards Ceremony

Entry Fees:

$210.00 Boys and Girls Teams
$150.00 Single Team
One fee enters competitors in each race.


Scoring and tiebreakers will follow National Federation standards.  Each runner will be assigned a competitor number and a race bib to be pinned on the front of their jersey.  The bib is to be worn only by the competitor to whom it is assigned.  If on the race day you are missing a runner’s bib please do not write in or scratch out names.  Please come to the scoring area located in the Wilcox Garage to make changes.  However, please make sure that you enter all anticipated runners when you enter your team.  No race day additions will be allowed if the athlete’s name is not in the database.

Drop-Off / Pick-Up:

Please have your bus driver park in the main athletic parking lot by the Hilliard Darby Athletic Complex and Tennis Courts.  Please walk your team to the North Athletic Fields by following the signs across the Hilliard Rails to Trails Bike Path.

Race Day Packet:

Race day packets may be picked up at the Wilcox Garage (the only building on the North Athletic Fields).  The garage will also be used for scoring each race.  Please walk around the backside of the facility to the open garage door and advise your athletes to stay clear of the scoring area.

Start Line / Finish Line:

Please arrive at the finish line a minimum of fifteen minutes before each race begins so that OHSAA officials may check in each team.  At the finish line please retain the finish cards for back up scoring.  Both the start and finish lines should be cleared of spectators.  Spectators may stand behind the barriers, but they are not permitted on the lines.  Please coaches only!

Awards Ceremony:

Awards will be given to the top ten finishers in each race. Team trophies will be presented to the top five teams in each race. Awards will be presented at the awards ceremony.  At 12:30 PM please meet at the stage near the Wilcox Garage. Results will be posted near the concession stand in front of the garage. At 12:30 PM there will be an awards ceremony held at the stage near the Wilcox Garage.  The ceremony will be for all place winners in each individual race and the top 5 teams in the ROC.  No awards will be passed out in the chute.  The Midwest Meet of Champions would like to honor the athletes that earned awards and do them justice for their accomplishments. Please have those athletes who receive awards dressed in their team wear / warm-ups for the presentation and pictures.

Team Camps:

Team camps are permitted on the practice football fields and baseball / softball fields.  Please make sure that camps do not interfere with the course and that sites are cleaned up when you leave.  Camps should not be made around the Wilcox Garage. 

Spectator Admission, Parking, Concessions / Restrooms:

Spectator admission will be charged for the general public. Please inform your fans that adults will be charged $6.00 and students/kids $3.00. 

Spectator parking will be located at the Hilliard Darby Athletic Complex at 4200 Leppert Rd. and is free of charge.

Concessions will be located at the North Athletic Fields at the Wilcox Garage.

Restrooms are available at the Hilliard Darby Athletic Complex, the Wilcox Garage (located on the North Athletic Fields) and Portable restrooms at various locations on the course.


A limited amount of T-shirts will be available with the Midwest Meet of Champions logo.  Prices will range form $10.00 to $20.00.

Contact Information:

Jon Agriesti
Hilliard Darby High School
Head Boys CC / Track and Field Coach
Home: 614-850-1422
Cell: 614-439-7010
School AD: 614-850-1004
School Voicemail: 614-921-5697

Entry Window will close precisely at 7:00 PM on Wednesday, September 7
    • The Entry Window will open at 8:00 AM on Sunday, August 27
      Rosters must be submitted through Baum's Page Online Entry System before the entry deadline.
    1. Late entries will not be accepted!  Or if accepted, they will be subject to a Late Entry Penalty.
    • Go to www.baumspage.com, browse to Cross Country, the specific meet, and the Online Entry Form.
      • Click the Help link and print Online Entry Instructions for CC if you need detailed instructions.

MMOC Meet Index