The Internet Home of Track & Field

Nebraska State Cross Country Meet

Marian (Omaha) girls and Millard South boys take A titles; David Adams (York, class B) and Katelyn White (Broken Bow, Class C) defend titles.

October 20th, 2006 Kearney Country Club

compiled and reported by Tony Bozarth

Results - Class A - Class B - Class C - Class D

Class A Girls: Emily Sisson blitzed over the Kearney Country Club course on a cloudy day to win in 14:35 for 4k, and led Marian (Omaha) to it's fourth consecutive Class A state title. Marian scored 50 points to Lincoln East's 88, with Columbus a close third with 93 points. Fremont (134), Millard West (140) and Lincoln Southwest (143) completed to top six teams. Sisson was followed across the line by Kelli Budd in second (15:07), giving Marian a one-two finish, with Katie Kelly in eight (15:21) putting three Marian runners in the top ten. Stephanie Hauer (Bellevue East) was third at 15:13, with Ashley Schnell (North Star, Lincoln 15:16) edging Holly Bussa (Fremont 15:16) for fourth. Jillian Ourada (Omaha North 15:20 6th), Katie Nelson (Lincoln Southeast 15:21 7th), Ali Gress (Papillion LaVista South 15:24 9th) and Jena Schwalenberg (Columbus 15:25 10th) completed the top ten.

Class A Boys: In a tight, tight race Millard South scored a 78-82 victory over Benson (Omaha) to win the Class A boys title. Bellevue West 118 edged Kearney (118) on the sixth runner rule for third. Fremont (123) was fifth and Lincoln East (159) sixth. Todd Guliza led Millard South, winning in a quick 15:28 over the rolling 5k course. Guliza was third in last year's meet. The Kearney duo of Nicholas Caprario (15:55) and Kevin Stubbs (16:10) went two-three, with Stubbs just ahead of Benson's Ter Diu (16:10). Fifth went to Mark Nelson (Papillion LaVista South 16:13) with Peter Falcon (Bellevue West 16:25 6th), Alexander Heyl (Lincoln East 16:26 7th), Jonathan Ronhovde (Fremont 16:27 8th), Wol Nymun (Omaha Westside 16:31 9th) and defending champ Matthew Conahan (Millard North 16:34 10th) completing the top ten.

Note: Class B, C, and D ran six runners, scoring four.

Class B Girls: Geing put all four scorers in the top ten to win with 19 points after placing third last year. Defending champ Pius X (Lincoln) was second with 29 points, with York third with 58. Sidney was fourth with 79, edging Plattsmouth's 80. Elizabeth Ediger led Gering, wining in 15:25 to shade Katherine Lange (Piux X 15:27) and Rikki Sterkel (Gering 15:28). Elizabeth Johnson (Plattsmouth 15:32) and Jenna Kral (Crete 15:37) followed in fourth and fifth, with Amand Lee (Piux X sixth 15:44), Shiloh Villar (Gering 7th 15;44), Jessica Moseman (Plattsmouth 8th 15:48), Mikayla Wagner (Pius X 9th 15:51) and Bobbie Buhr (Gering 10th 15:51) completing a tight top ten.

Class B Boys: Ogallala scored 35 points to win the team title after finishing third last year, with defending champ Scottsbluff second with 68 and Beatrice third with 78. York was a close fourth with 80, edging Pius X (Lincoln) on the pusher. York's David Adams defended his title, cruising at 15:47 for a comfortable win over Adam Mitteis (Plattsmouth 16:00). Jessop Adams led Ogallala in third at 16:18, with team mate Tanner Fruit fourth at 16:49. Chad Valladares of Scottsbluff was ffith at 16:52. Derreck Donovan (Gering 16:56, 6th), Brandon Schlautman (Pius X, 16;56 7th), Zac Groenke (York, 16:56, 8th), Rudolph Mignon (Norris, 16;58, 9th) and Benjamin Paben, Beatrice 16:59 10th) completed the top ten.

Class C Girls: Fort Calhoun scored the title with a 37 point total, with Broken Bow second (55) and defending champ Bishop Neumann third (62). Ainsworth was fourth with 89 points and Pierce fifth with 96. Katelyn White (Broken Bow) and Charity Miles (Valentine) staged another exciting duo after going 1-2 respectivley last year, with White defending her title in 14:45, and Miles once again second in 14:55. Meleia Oestmann (Auburn) was third in 15:47, with Kristin Cherko leading Fort Calhoun in fourth at 15:48. Renetta Rawlings (Kimball) ran 15:55 to edge Jena Miller (Broken Bow 15:59) for fifth. Cara Kunnemann (Chase County, 16:04, 7th), Sara Reeves (Bishop Neumann, 16:15, 8th), Akacia Wenworth (Ainsworth 16;17, 9th) and Tara Meador (Fort Calhoun, 16:18, 10th) finished the top ten.

Class C Boys: Catholic (Norfolk) moved up from last years's runner-up spot to capture the 2006 title with 43 points. Defending champ Syracuse was second with 55 and Mount Michael Benedictine was third with 67 points. St. Cecilia (Hastings) scored 91 for fourth and Minden 98 for fifth in a tight race. Alvaro Sanabria (Minden) ran 16:39 to win, with David Dierking (Broken Bow) repeating his second place from 2005, running 16:49. Andrew Stilmock (Syracuse) was third in 16;53, with Jarren Heng (Catholic, Norfolk) fourth at 17;08, just ahead of team-mate Kyle Wemhoff, also at 17;08. Grant Aden (Syracuse 17;11, 6th), Jamison Wyatt (Syracuse 17:14, 7th), Sean Trampe (Ord 17;20, 8th), Brett Gooden (Chase County, 17:25 9th) and Tyson Billings (Valentine 17:28, 10th) competed the top ten finishers.

Class D Girls: Crofton won the team title with 54 points and two runners in the top three scorers. Bayard was second with 62, with Freeman third with 84. Catholic (Kearney) was fourth with 54 and defending champ East Butler fifth with 99. Kristin Steffen led Bayard to the title with a narrow 15:59 to 16:01 win over Stefannie Erdmann (Wilbur-Clatonia). Traci Green (Catholic, Kearney) was third at 16:04, edging Rachel Barnes (Crofton 16:05), with Michaela Staub (Winside) a close fifth at 16:06. Tasha Boone (Dundy County 16:14, 6th), Ashlee Hudson (Morrill 16:16 7th), Amy Long (Bayard, 16:21 8th), Candiace Clark (McCool Junction 16:21 9th) and Erica Hamik (Catholic, Kearney 16:24 10th). completed the top ten.

Class D Boys: Malcolm defended it's team title from 2005, scoring 42 points with Dundy County second with 68. Yutan was third with 85 points, shading Crofton (91) and last year's runner-up Christian (Lincoln 98). Jeffrey Holka led Malcolm, winning in 16:53, with Ryan Hazen (Maywood) second at 16:59 and Brandon Shirkey (Dundy County) third at 17:01. Sean Jauken (Bertand/Loomis) was fourth at 17:24 and Nicholas Kizzire (Bayard) fifth at 17;25. Nicholas Anderson (Yutan 17:38, 6th), Matthew Trampe (Amherst 17:41 7th), Timothy Steward (Christian, Lincoln 17:42 8th), Devin Love (Yutan 17:46 9th) and Cole Flint (Louisville 17:47 10th) finished the top ten.


Heartland Region Index