The Internet Home of Track & Field

NSAA Nebraska State Meet

Emily Sisson smashes own record

Friday, October 19, 2007 - Kearney Country Club, U. of Nebraska-Kearney, Kearney NE

results from nsaahome.org

Results Pages - Boys - Girls - NSAA XC page (lots of good history, etc.)


  • Millard North NE soph Emily Sisson broke her own state meet record by 10 seconds, running 14:25 for 4k in Class A, and winning by 39.
  • But Sisson's old team, HL #8 Omaha Marian, took the Class A title again. Led by runner-up Kelli Budd (15:04), they scored 76 points for the win, 12 better than Millard North. Marian's 3rd and 4th girls, Kelly Esch and Kelly O'Brien, finished 10th and 14th to key the winning margin.
  • Marian's title was its 5th straight and 7th in 10 years. Millard North did improve from 10th last year.
  • In Class B, Sidney HS fr Kaitlyn Wells nipped Lincoln Pius X jr Katharine Lange, 15:42.01-15:42.91, with Norris jr Stephanie Gana a close 3rd with 15:45. Lange was also runner-up last year.
  • Reversing positions from last year, Lincoln Pius X won at every spot and took the Class B team title over Gering, 33-62, with Seward another point back with 63. Pius X has won 3 of last 4 titles.
  • In Class C, Broken Bow sr Katelyn White won her 3rd straight title in 15:26, her margin over runner-up Meleia Oestmann being 27 seconds.
  • Fort Calhoun used superior depth to win repeat as Class C champs, nipping Broken Bow, 32-35.
  • Bayard sr. Amy Long improved from 8th last year to regain the Class D title in 15:27, 19 seconds ahead of Kearney Catholic sr Erica Hamik. Long won as a soph before falling back last year.
  • Crofton won its 2nd straight 'D' title, scoring the same 54 points as last year.
  • Fremont sr Jon Ronhovde improved from 8th last year to win Class A title with best time of the day, 16:11.
  • HL honorable mention Omaha Benson, however, took 2-3 with Ter Diu (16:24) and Willie White (16:25) and won with 88 points. HL#8 Fremont, which had won 3 of the last 5 years, was just 5th with 133, behind Kearney, Millard West, and Norfolk.
  • HL honorable mention Norfolk Catholic took Class C again with 23 points (just 4 score in Classes B-C-D), 39 ahead of Hastings St. Cecilia.
  • Minden sr Al Sanabria repeated in Class C in 16:41, but Norfolk Catholic soph Jarren Heng was 2nd in 16:47 and the winners then took 6-7-8-9.
  • In Class B, Plattsmouth sr Adam Mitteis moved up from 2nd last year and won a thriller over Scottsbluff sr Jaime Torres (15th last year), with both at 16:17. Mitteis had won as a freshman before York's David Adams won two years in a row.
  • Lincoln Pius X made it a sweep with a four-point win over Beatrice, 37-41. It was Pius X's first win since 91, and tied them with Lincoln SE and Scottsbluff for most team titles in state history, with 10.
  • In yet another close finish, Deshler sr Jens Scholl nipped Bayard sr Nicholas Kizzire in Class D, both in 17:03
  • Perkins County won the 'D' race by four points over Dundy County-Stratton, breaking a three-year string by Malco

Heartland Region Index