The Internet Home of Track & Field

KSHSAA Kansas State Championships

5A-6A at Rim Rock Farm - 1A-4A at Wamego

Saturday, Oct. 31, 2009
From firebirdrunning.com/Lawrence Free State XC (5A-6A) and usd320.com (1A-4A) Wamego HS
Boys Results - Girls Results
Race Distance: 5K-boys, 4K-girls | KSHSAA page

Lawrence boys repeat 6A; Olathe East girls 2nd in 4 yrs.
Clifton, Maki battle for best Rim Rock time; Wedge leads Lawrence; sweep in 1A

Team Champs
  • Class 6A - Lawrence boys 71 over Washburn Rural 103; Olathe East girls 103 over Blue Valley West 122
  • Class 5A - Wichita Carroll boys 42 over McPherson 83; Overland Park-St. Thomas Aquinas girls 44 over Wichita Carroll 54
  • Class 4A - Mulvane boys 30 over Wamego 51; Baldwin girls 40 over Desoto 92
  • Class 3A - Holcomb boys 77 over Minneapolis 88; Riley County girls 82 over Belle Plaine 89
  • Class 2A - Elbing-Berean Acad. boys 58 over Olpe 77; Bennington girls 65 over Shaw-Maranatha Academy 99
  • Class 1A (score 4) - Tribune-Greeley County boys 24 over Ness City 25; Tribune-Greenley County girls 34 over Burrton 45

Boys Highlights
  • A year after breaking Shawnee Mission NW's string of 14 straight titles, HL#10 Lawrence's boys repeated in 6A with 71 points, 32 better than Washburn Rural.  After gettting outkicked for the win last season, Lawrence #1 and senior Roy Wedge wins by more than 25 seconds in a best-of-the-day 15:43.86
  • With five in the top 14, Wichita Carroll controlled the 5A boys race with 42, nearly doubling up McPherson (83).  McPherson sr Adam Porter won convincingly in 16:07.97
  • Mulvane continued their 4A domination, defending with a 30 to 51 win over Wamego, with DeSoto third with 120.  Mulvane put three runners into the top eight.  In the closest race of the day, Riley Woodward (Wamego 16:19) outdueled Evan Landes (Mulvane 16:19), winning with a last gap surge at the line.  Tony Weiss of Baldwin was third at 16:38
  • Holcomb (77) edged Minneapolis (88) for the 3A team title with Independent (Wichita) third with 111.  Collin Trickle (Minneapolis) pulled away to a 17:01 win, with Austin Bogina (Northeast-Arma) second at 17:18 and Jacob Spence (Baxter Springs) third at 17:30
  • Eric Ruth of Stanton County (Johnson) joined the long line of 2A champions from this southwest Kansas power, winning in 17:01.  Cody Miller (Wathena) 17:13 was second and Arlan Newby (Berean Academy, Elbing) was third at 17:19. Newby led Berean Academy to the 2A team title with 58 points, with Olpe (77) second and Bennington (130) third
  • Defending 1A champion Colton McNinch (17:12) and Kyle Calvin (17:15) of Ness City ran to a convincing 1-2 finish, with Isaac Wilson (Tribune-Greeley County) third at 17:19.  In the biggest upset of the day, Tribune-Greeley County scored 24 (four scoring) to edge defending champ and top-ranked Ness City (25) in a thriller!  Pretty Prairie was third with 69 points
Girls Highlights
  • Olathe East picked up for its #3 falling and pulled away from a tight pack of contenders in 6A.  Their 103 was 19 ahead of 2nd-place Blue Valley West - which in turn saw four more teams follow within 13 points
  • Washburn Rural sr US#23 Avery Clifton stayed unbeaten with a dominating 15:01.16 Class 6A victory.  She was 33 seconds up on Maize senior Dani Walker's 15:34.31.  Wichita-Kapaun-Mt. Carmel jr McKenzie Maki also nearly broke 15:00, winning 5A in 15:01.52, 28 seconds up on Wichita Carroll frosh Kaelyn Balch (15:29.62)
  • HL bubble team Overland Park-St. Thomas Aquinas and Wichita Carroll had a great battle in girls 5A, with St. Thomas prevailing, 44-54, with 3rd 83 points further back.  Wichita Carroll had the best average of the day at Rim Rock, a 16:20.08, to St. Thomas's 16:21.93 and Olathe East's 16:23.71
  • Baldwin dominated the 4A team race, winning with 40 points, with DeSoto second with 92 and Wamego third with 133.  Freshman Morgan Wedekind (Valley Center) took command midway and pulled away to a convincing 15:00 win.  Cheyenne Becker (Pratt) was second at 15:26 and defending champ Molly Milburn (El Dorado) third at 15:31
  • Freshman Jenna Snell (Ellinwood) and Heather Ruder (Thomas More Prep-Marian, Hays) ran like veterans, dueling for the 3A title.  Snell pulled away late to a 15:38 to 15:46 win, with Morgan Trible (Bennington 16:04) third.  Top-ranked Riley County (82) edged Belle Plaine (89) on the strength of their pack, with Norton (127) third
  • Defending 2A champ Katelyn Henderson (Olpe) went out hard, but Ally Balderston (Sacred Heart, Salina) played the waiting game to perfection and moved mid-race to a convincing lead and a 16:24 win.  Page Wells (Leoti-Wichita County) was second at 16:35 with Henderson third (16:37).  Bennington (65) won the team title, with Maranatha Academy (Shawnee) second with 99 and Leoti-Wichita County third with 121
  • Defending champion Rachel Renken (Lakeside, Downs) ran 15:55 to win and held off a late charge from Naomi Reeh (Cheylin, Bird City, 15:57), Madison Moser (Tribune-Greely County, 16:17) was third.  Tribune-Greely County was the only school in the state to pull off double championships, winning the title with 34 points (4 scoring).  Burrton was second with 45 points and Ness City was third with 59

Heartland Index