The Internet Home of Track & Field

Kansas Shrine Bowl Senior All-Star XC Race

Top seniors from Kansas gather to race for a great cause!

Saturday 7/25/09 Wichita State University, Wichita KS

by Tony Bozarth, Heartland Dyestat Editor

  For the second year in a row, top cross country runners from Kansas will race in the Kansas Shrine Bowl All-Star Cross Country meet. The event 
held in conjunction with the Shrine Bowl All-Star football game, is a fund-raiser for the Shriner's Burn Hospitals. Featuring 40 of the top graduated senior 
distance runners in Kansas, the race will be run on a 2 mile course over the Wichita State campus, and will finish on the Cessna Stadium track minutes before the 
football game begins. The athletes will also take part in a parade and other Shrine Bowl activites during the weekend. The athletes will be presented awards 
and introduced at half-time of the Shrine Bowl football game. The athletes were nominated by their coaches and then chosen by the Shrine Bowl committee for the 
team. As per KSHSAA rules, only graduated seniors may particpate in All-Star competitions. 
  Race Previews 
  The girls race will feature Amanda Callaway (Belle Plaine) who won the 3A state XC title and led her team to the state championship, and also won the 3200 in 
the 2009 state track meet. Alisa Ruggle (Riley County) won the 3A state 1600 race over Callaway this spring. Marley Crusch (Manhattan) one of the state's top 
runners over the last four years, features sub 11:00 3200 credentials and was the 6A XC runner-up. BreAnna Briggs (Wamego) won the state 3200 track crown and was 
4A XC runner-up. Haley Wolf (Ellis) won the 2A 1600 state crown. Kylie Graves (Rossville) was the 3A state XC runner-up. Other top runners include Keli Russell (Olathe South), a former Sunflower League champion, Casey Epps (a double regional track champion) and Lana Thompson, who both led Olathe East to back-to-back state track titles. Laura Burke (Derby, 6A) and Corrina Papps (Baldwin, 4A) led their teams to state XC titles. 
  The boys race will feature face-offs between state XC champs PJ Greer (St. Thomas Aquinas, Overland Park 5A), Thomas O'Connell (Andover, 4A) and Jason Martin 
(Herington, 3A). Jake Wike (Derby) won the Class 6A 3200 and 1600 at the state track meet this last spring, as did Norton Community's Zach Bainter in 
Class 3A. David Roberts (Mulvane) won the 4A state track 3200, and led Mulvane to a state XC title. Other top runners include Nick Anning, (the state 3A 3200 
runner-up, and led KC Christian to a state XC title). Roy Wedge (Lawrence) was the 6A state XC runner-up and led Lawrence High to the state team title. Kyle 
Glasgow (Kapaun Mt. Carmel, Wichita) was the 5A state XC Runner-up, and Kyle Hanson (St. Thomas Aquianas, Overland Park), who along with Greer led Aquinas 
to the 5A state XC championship.   
East Girls team (Runners name, school) 
Alyssa Blakeman (Olathe South) 
BreAnna Briggs (Wamego) 
Calleigh Durr (Baldwin) 
Casey Epps (Olathe East) 
Kylie Graves (Rossville) 
Hannah Law (Seaman, Topeka) 
Alexandria Leach (Jackson Heights, Holton) 
Jessica Macy (Olathe Northwest) 
April Onnen (Seaman, Topeka) 
Corinna Papps (Baldwin) 
A'Brey Rodgers (Shawnee Mission Northwest) 
Racheal Roudybush (Wamego) 
Keli Russell (Olathe South)0 
Sara Doll (Kinsley) 
Briana Gomez (Kapaun Mt. Carmel, Wichita) 
Elizabeth Hastings (Kapuan Mt. Carmel, Wichita) 
Lanae Kidd (Sunrise Christian Academy, Wichita) 
Kallie "Jo Jo" Mahaffey (Riley County, Riley) 
Brittani May (Clearwater) 
Sadie Roesner (Southeast of Saline, Gypsum) 
Alissa Ruggle (Riley County, Riley) 
Shelby Smithhisler (Belle Plaine) 
Jennifer Watts (Belle Plaine) 
Haley Wolf (Ellis) 
East Boys team 
Nick Anning (Kansas City Christian, Prairie Village) 
Todd Brennon (Northeast, Arma) 
Benjamin Chmiel (Wamego) 
Ricky Creek (Marysville) 
Russell Frakes (Hiawatha) 
PJ Greer (St. Thomas Aquinas, Overland Park) 
Kyle Hanson (St. Thomas Aquinas, Overland Park) 
Andy Hill (Humboldt) 
Garrett Jones (Perry-Lecompton) 
Derek Palmer (Wellsville) 
Chris Seematter (Northern Heights, Allen) 
Kyle Sieve (Seaman, Topeka) 
Aaron Ward (Southeast, Cherokee) 
Ben Wilson (Lawrence) 
Connor Wright (Baldwin) 
West Boys Team 
Drew Akler (Cheney) 
Graham Armstrong (Manhattan) 
Zach Bainter (Norton) 
Zach Ball (Wichita Northwest) 
Valentin Borunda (Liberal) 
Austin Cooksey (Kapaun Mt. Carmel, Wichita) 
Greg Doman (Manhattan) 
Kyle Glasgow (Kapaun Mt. Carmel, Wichita) 
Clint Kessler (Wichita West) 
Jason Martin (Herington) 
Max McClure (Southeast of Saline, Gypsum) 
Brennan McNickle (Stafford) 
Thomas O' Connell (Andover) 
David Roberts (Mulvane) 
Jake Wike (Derby) 
Rick Patton (Wamego), Head Coach 
East Coaches 
Donnie Palmer (Topeka West) 
Chris McAfee (DeSoto) 
Tony Bozarth (Olathe East) 
West Coaches 
Eldon Edwards (Derby) 
Greg Cook (Greeley County, Tribune) 
Susan Melgares (Manhattan)