The Internet Home of Track & Field

Kansas Shrine Bowl All-Star Race

"Strong Legs Running So Weak Legs May Walk"

Saturday 9/25/09 Wichita State University, Wichita KS

by Tony Bozarth, Dyestat Heartland Editor

Race Report: The second annual Kansas Shrine Bowl Cross Bowl Cross Country featured intense racing over a rolling course 2 mile course at Wichita State University. The race then ended with a 200 meter loop on the Cessna Stadium track in front of 20,000 fans during Shrine Bowl pre-game


Both races were hot from the start, with the West boys team setting up a blistering pace from the gun. As the race developed, 4A Wichita area rivals
David Roberts (Mulvane) and Thomas O' Connell (Andover) began to draw away from a strong pack of Kyle Hanson (Aquianas, Overland Park), Jake Wike (Derby), Graham Armstrong (Manhattan) and Brayden Barrientez (Haysville Campus, Wichita). Kyle Glasgow (Kapuan Mt. Carmel, Wichita), Ben Wilson (Lawrence), Zach Bainter (Norton) and Connor Wright (Baldwin) all lurked close behind. Roberts and O'Connell continued to press the pace. As the course entered a downhill portion toward the stadium entrance

Roberts pulled away to a 9:25.81 win, with O' Connell second at 9:32.72. Kyle Hanson kicked to a 9:43.69 third place finish over Wike (4th, 9:45.65) and Armstrong (5th, 9:46.72). The West team's up-front strength and hot early pace led it to a 71-140 team win (10 scoring).

The girls also finished a strong early pace as BreAnna Briggs of Wamego and Marley Crusch (Manhatta) powered to quick early lead. Haley Wolf (Ellis, a state qualifier in the distance races and pole vault!) stalked the leading duo with Casey Epps (Olathe East) and Keli Russell (Olathe South) just behind her, and Amanda Callaway (Belle Plaine) and Alissa Ruggle (Riley County) also in contention. Briggs and Crusch continued to hammer away, with Briggs getting a small gap that grew as the pair entered the stadium. Briggs ran to an 11:14.79 triumph, with Crusch second at 11:22.76, in a race much closer than the winning time would attest. Epps (11:39.97) moved past Wolf (11:46.28) to take third on the downhill stretch to the stadium, with Russell fifth at 11:56.35. The East girls took a hard fought 88-118 win.

Authors Personal Note: Having been honored to be an assistant coach with the Shrine Bowl Cross Country race this year, I must congratulate all the runners and coaches involved, and tell you how much I enjoyed this weekend. Rarely have I worked with such a fine group of young men and women. Your dedication to the ideals we ran for was reflected in your slogan: "Strong Legs Running So Weak Legs May Walk." Both on and off the course you showed what the word All-Star means, regardless of how you finished in the race. To my fellow coaches, working with you was a privilege. You also truly showed what an All-Star is, and it's an honor to get to coach with you. Finally to

Head Coach Rick Patton, a thank you for allowing me to coach this weekend, and a public thank you and congratulations on the tremendous job you did organizing this these teams and setting a great tone of running for something higher than ourselves.

Boys Race

1. David Roberts (Mulvane) West 9:25.81

2. Thomas O' Connell (Andover) West 9:32.72

3. Kyle Hanson (St. Thomas Aquinas, Overland Park) East 9:43.69

4. Jake Wike (Derby) West 9:45.65

5. Graham Armstrong (Manhattan) West 9:46.42

6. Brayden Barrientez (Haysville Campus, Wichita) West 9:57.19

7. Kyle Glasgow (Kapaun Mt-Carmel, Wichita) West 10:04.33

8. Ben Wilson (Lawrence) East 10:04.62

9. Zach Bainter (Norton) West 10:04.68

10. Connor Wright (Baldwin) East 10:06.56

11. Austin Cooksey (Kapaun Mt-Carmel, Wichita) West 10:13.36

12. Valentin Borunda (Liberal) West 10:18.14

13. Benjamin Chmiel (Wamego) East 10:27.46

14. Max McClure (Southeast of Saline, Gypsum) West 10:39.46

15. Zach Ball (Wichita Northwest) West 10:44.08

16. Garrett Jones (Perry-Lecompton) East 10:49.72

17. Drew Akler (Cheney) West 10:59.28

18. Jason Martin (Herington) West 11:06.21

19. Derek Palmer (Wellsville) East 11:09.52

20. Ricky Creek (Marysville) West 11:09.81

21. Brennan McNickle (Stafford) West 11:12.73

22. Andy Hill (Humboldt) East 11:14.22

23. Todd Brennon (Northeast, Arma) East 11:21.37

24. Aaron Ward (Cherokee-Southeast) East 11:41.91

25. Chris Seematter (Northern Heights, Allen) East 12:13.73


1. BreAnna Briggs (Wamego) East 11:14.79

2. Marley Crusch (Manhattan) West 11:22.76

3. Casey Epps (Olathe East) East 11:39.97

4. Haley Wolf (Ellis) West 11:46.28

5. Keli Russell (Olathe South) East 11:56.35

6. Amanda Callaway (Belle Plaine) West 12:12.25

7. Alissa Ruggle (Riley County, Riley) West 12:15.28

8. Kylie Graves (Rossville) East 12:16.32

9. Alyssa Blakeman (Olathe South) East 12:32.19

10. Rachael Roudybush (Wamego) East 12:35.63

11. Hannah Law (Seaman, Topeka) East 12:36.85

12. A'Brey Rodgers (Shawnee Mission Northwest) East 12:41.00

13. Briana Gomez (Kapaun Mt. Carmel, Wichita) West 12:49.85

14. Calleigh Durr (Baldwin) East 12:57.66

15. Corinna Papps (Baldwin) East 13:10.25

16. Shelby Smithhisler (Belle Plaine) West 13:14.19

17. Sara Doll (Kinsley) West 13:19.28

18. Lanae Kidd (Sunrise Christian, Wichita) West 13:27.38

19. Jasmine Dixon (Greeley County, Tribune) West 13:36.32

20. Brittani May (Clearwater) West 13:51.72

21. April Onnen (Seaman, Topeka) East 13:56.56

22. Elizabeth Hastings (Kapaun Mt. Carmel, Wichita) West 14:45.69

23. Kali Yates (St. James Academy, Lenexa) East 14.59.79

24. Alex Leach (Jackson Heights, Holton) East 14:59.79

Team Scores (10 scoring)

Boys: West 71, East 140

Girls: East 88, West 118

All Star Coaches

Rick Patton (Wamego) Head Coach

Chris McAfee (DeSoto)

Donnie Palmer (Topeka West)

Tony Bozarth (Olathe East)

Susan Melgares (Manhattan)

Greg Cook (Greeley County-Tribune)

Eldon Edwards (Derby)