The Internet Home of Track & Field

IHSAA and IGHSAU Boys and Girls State Championships
Kennedy Park, Fort Dodge, IA
Saturday November 1st, 2008

from theracershub.com - Boys Results - Girls Results
Race Distance: 5K boys, 4K girls

Ashlie Decker (Dowling) takes 4A Girls win
Decker over teammate Flood (defending champ) again as Dowling Catholic repeats
4A boys: Pleasant Valley wins 3rd straight, McCarthy and Moyer go 1-2 for Burlington

Team Champs:
  • Class 4A Girls:  Dowling Catholic  69, Iowa City High 90, Iowa City West 111
  • Class 4A Boys:  Pleasant Valley 76, Iowa City High 95, Burlington 141
  • Class 3A Girls:  Mt. Vernon-Lisbon 70, Williamsburg 74
  • Class 3A Boys:  Algona 88, Pella 114
  • Class 2A Girls:  Union (LaPorte City) 45, Hudson 144
  • Class 2A Boys:  Spirit Lake 55, PCM (Monroe) 65
  • Class 1A Girls:  Pekin 54, Nodaway Valley 89
  • Class 1A Boys:  South Winneshiek (Calmar) 99, Iowa Mennonite (Kalona) 106
Class 4A Highlights
  • Ashlie Decker (13:37) upsets two-time state champ Katie Flood (14:12) and leads Dowling Catholic to a repeat title.  Iowa City High (90) defeats cross town rival Iowa City West (111) for 2nd.  Shelby Houlihan (Sioux City East, 14:27) is third
  • Pleasant Valley boys take their third title in a row with 76 points, with Iowa City High taking second again (95) and Burlington third (141).  PV put three runners in the top ten. 
  • JT McCarthy (15:21) and Marshall Moyer (15:27) go 1-2 for Burlington, with Frank Canady (Iowa City West) third at 15:29.
Class 3A Highlights
  • Mt. Vernon-Lisbon (70) girls edge Williamsburg (74) on basis of two runners in the top ten, while Williamsburg packs well.  Wahlert (Dubuque) is third with 109. 
  • Sarah Dickinson of Oskaloosa runs 14:10 to complete an undefeated season, with Trisha Miller (Maquoketa 14:48) 2nd and Mary Menster (Assumption, Davenport 14:56) third.
  • Algona boys take the team title with 88 points with Pella (114) edging Grinnell (117) for second. 
  • Sophomore Evan Selsor of Winterset pulls away to a 15:30 triumph, while Chad Rutledge (15:46) and Ryan McMahon (15:46) jump-start Algona's title race with a 2-3 finish.
Class 2A Highlights
  • Union (LaPorte City) dominates the girls race with four runners in the top fifteen and 44 points.  Hudson (144) and Wilton (152)  takes 2nd and 3rd. 
  • Casey Morgan (Northeast, Goose Lake) zips to a 14:29 to take the individual title.  Missy Miller (Tipton) was second at 15:01, edging Katelyn Price (Iowa Falls-Alden, 15:03)
  • In an exciting team race Spirit Lake (55) edged PCM (Monroe) (65) in a runner-for-runner finish.  Regina (Iowa City) was third with 120 points. 
  • Eric Thien of Tipton pulled away to a 15:53 win, with Brett Castek (Osage 16:17) outkicking Alec Baldwin (Spirit Lake 16:18) for second.
Class 1A Highights
  • Pekin (54) put three runners in the top fifteen to pull away from Nodaway Valley (89) in the girls race, with Valley Community (Elgin) third with 140. 
  • Sara Stoakes became North Tama (Traer)'s third state champion in a row, following the Dinsdale twins the last three years.  Stoakes ran 14:35 to triumph, with Audrey Griffin (Prince of Peace, Clinton  14:44) and Katy Moen (Wapsie Valley, Fairbank, 14:46) following.
  • South Winneshiek (Calmar) used a strong top three to hold off Iowa Mennonite (Kalona) 99-106 for the boys title.  Belle Plaine (138) was third. 
  • Drew Sikkema (Prince of Peace, Clinton) ran 15:58 to hold off Jamie Meek (Griswold 16:02) and Dan McDonald (BCLUW, Conrad, 16:05) for the individual title


Heartland Index