The Internet Home of Track & Field

Kansas Shrine Bowl All Star Cross Country 5k

First Annual Shrine Bowl race Saturday 7/26 in Emporia: Preview

7/26/08 Emporia KS

Preview by Heartland Editor Tony Bozarth

The First Annual Kansas Shrine Bowl All-Star Cross Country 5k will be held Saturday in Emporia, KS.  The teams were picked by a committee of the KCCTFCA .  The race will be scored cross country style.   Due to KSHSAA regulations, only graduated seniors may compete.

     In the boy’s race,  the West squad features four state champions in the field.  Trace Kendrick (Scott City) dominated the 3A scene this past year, winning the state cross country title, and sweeping the 800-1600-3200 at the state track meet in Wichita. Bryce Volz (Bishop Carroll, Wichita) lost his track season due to stress fractures, but dominated the 2007 5A state cross country meet at Rimrock Farm.  Kaleb Humphries led Sterling to the 2A state cross country title, and won the state cross country meet in 2007 at Wamego.  Andrew Wagner of El Dorado was the 2006 4A state XC champ and took third this year.  Josh Baden (Colby) was the 4A XC runnerup this year, and Colin Hagen (Kapaun Mt. Carmel, Wichita) was third in 5A.

    The East squad is led by a four runners  from 5A state cross country champion Emporia.  Jacob Davies was the 5A state runner-up, and features dazzling 800 speed if the pace lags.  Jon Sennell (Shawnee Mission South) finished third individually in the 6A state XC meet, leading his team to 2nd overall.

East Boys Roster

Tyler Anliker (Emporia); Jordan Bauer (Wabaunsee); James Carter (Bonner Springs); Jacob Davies (Emporia); Asher Delmott (Emporia); Brandon Garcia (Osawatomie); Jesse Gonzales (Wamego); Aaron Karlin (Baldwin); David Keach (Neodesha); Jon Senell (Shawnee Mission South); Lucas Straub (Jackson Heights); Pete Symmonds (Northern Heights); Andrew Wayman (Emporia); Taylor Wofford (Olathe East).

West Boys Roster

Josh Baden (Colby); Steve Bai (Manhattan); Dustin Barker (Leoti); Ethan Cook (Victoria); Tyrel George (Scott City); Colin Hagen (Kapaun Mt. Carmel, Wichita); Kaleb Humphries (Sterling); Austin Hunt (Belle Plaine); Trace Kendrick (Scott City); Adrian Marquez  (Hutchinson); Kevin Pendergast (Dodge City); Scott Uffurd (Bishop Carroll, Wichita); Bryce Volz (Bishop Carroll, Wichita); Andrew Wagner (El Dorado).


The Girls race featured a fascinating race between many state champs at various distances.  For the East squad, multi-time 4A state champ Heather Garcia of Baldwin leads the pack, but is hardly the only star.  5A state XC champ Michaela Reynolds of Emporia also blew away the field in the state track 3200, and will certainly keep the pace hot.  1A state XC champ Sharon Zeller of Olpe also adds state champion experience.  In addition Rebeka Stowe (Olathe Northwest) was the two-time 6A state runner-up, Kristin Gillespie (Shawnee Mission South) has an incredible range and dazzling closing speed after winning the 6A state 800 this year, and Jylian Jaloma (Maur Hill-Mt. Scholastica, Atchison) was a perennial state championship contender.

       The West girls squad also features talent and speed.  Aubrey Frederking  of Plainville won two 2A state cross country titles and dominated the 2A state track meet.  Annie Martin of Riley County likewise won a couple of 3A state cross country meets, and has the strength to push the pace and speed to close it out.  Emilee Morris (Hutchinson)was third in the state  5A XC race at Rimrock Farm last fall.  Laura Nightengale (El Dorado) was runner-up in the loaded 4A state XC meet last year, and has great range speed wise. 

East Girls Roster

Amanda Akin (Seaman, Topeka); Miranda Archer (Rossville); Haley Beggs (Shawnee Mission South); Emily Evans (Blue Valley West); Heather Garcia (Baldwin); Kristin Gillespie (Shawnee Mission South); Kayla Harris (Jackson Heights); Mollee Hercules (Bishop Miege, Shawnee Mission); Jylian Jaloma (Maur Hill-Mt. St. Scholastica, Atchinson); Katie Mona (Olathe Northwest); Beth Neilson (Wamego); Michaela Reynolds (Emporia); Alicia Whitehurst (Independence); Devin Weigers (Blue Valley); Sharon Zeller (Olpe).

West Girls Roster

Chasady Arsiago (Manhattan); Melissa Bartlett (Whitewater/Remington); Erica Dunigan (Hutchinson);  Aubrey Frederking (Plainville); Kate Hamlin (Bishop Carroll, Wichita); Alli Harbour (Elkhart); Jennifer Heim (Hoxie); Annie Martin (Riley County); Samantha Martin (Andale); Emilee Morris (Hutchinson); Laura Nightengale (El Dorado); Addy Pryor (Newton); Marissa Quillen (Wichita Southeast); Renee Simon (Flinthills); Kaley Teemat (Dodge City).