The Internet Home of Track & Field

WIAA Wisconsin State Championships

The Ridges Golf Course, Wisconsin Rapids WI

Saturday, October 31, 2009
Results - BOYS - D1 - D2 - D3 | GIRLS - D1 - D2 - D3
From wiaawi.org
Race Distance: Boys 5k, Girls 4k

Brookfield Central, Wausau East win D1 titles
Seidel, Levac repeat individually; Haegler matches Seidel's time

Team Champs:
  • Division 1 - Brookfield Central boys 99 over Marquette U. HS 115; Wausau East girls 75 over Whitefish Bay 142
  • Division 2 - Shorewood boys 81 over Nekoosa/Port Edwards 92; Pewaukee girls 62 over Wisconsin Lutheran 134
  • Division 3 - Cedar Grove-Belgium boys 68 over The Prairie School 76; Edgar girls 107 over Cedar Grove-Belgium 108
Boys Highlights
  • HL Bubble Team Brookfield Central boys scored a mild upset, scoring 99 to win the D1 boys race ahead of HL#9 Marquette U. HS (115) and HL Bubble Team Stevens Point (138)
  • Hamilton sr Marcus Paulson (15:41.0) won a tough 3-way battle with Madison East sr Gabe Heck (15:43.7) and Marquette sr Jake Erschen (15:46.7), running the fastest time of the day
  • Shorewood's boys put four in the top 12 and held on for an 11-point D2 win oer Nekoosa/Port Edwards, 81-92, with Wisconsin Lutheran 3rd at 117
  • Catholic Memorial sr John Luterbach scored the individual win with a 15:46.3, 9 seconds ahead of Shorewood sr Peter Drews, who got the single point as the top team runner
  • Led by overall champ Josh Mulloy (16:15.4), Cedar Grove-Belgium won the D3 title by 8 points, scoring 68 to runner-up The Prairie School (76).  Aquinas sr Sam Simones ran 16:30.1 for 2nd.
Girls Highlights
  • The Wausau East girls dominated at every position en route to a 67-point margin in the D1 race, scoring 75 to runner-up and HL Bubble Team Whitefish Bay's 142.  The winning effort was led by sr Katelyn Stine, who was 3rd overall (14:41.8), but scored a single point since the two ahead of her were individual qualifiers
  • Arrowhead sr Gabby Levac repeated as overall D1 champ, running 14:36.7 to the 14:38.4 of Mukwonago sr Blair Doney
  • The biggest margin of victory came in D2 girls, where Pewaukee overwhelmed every with 62 points, with Wisconsin Lutheran in 2nd at 134. 
  • Indiv. qualifier Marya Haegler (Winnebago Lutheran sr) won by more than 30 seconds with 14:33.9, with Pewaukee sr Hannah Frett following in 15:04.7 to pace the champs.  Defending champ Morgan Sickels (Catholic Memorial sr) was 3rd
  • In the closest battle of the weekend, Edgar took the D3 girls race with 107, a point ahead of Cedar Grove-Belgium - which was that margin away from a sweep, since their boys team won.  CG-B won the first three spots, but Edgar gained 5 pts back on the 5th runner. 
  • University Lake School soph Molly Seidel won her 2nd straight title and matched Haegler for best time of the day with 14:33.9, winning by 29 seconds over Colfax jr Sarah McMahon

Heartland Index