The Internet Home of Track & Field

MHSAA Michigan State Championships

Michigan International Speedway, Brooklyn MI

Saturday, November 1, 2008
From (source) - Boys Results - Girls Results
Race Distance: 5K - Schedule

Girls D1: Living up to the hype
Depth wins for TC Central; Megan Goethals rips a record 17:11;
AA Pioneer, Stephen Walker ring up best results for boys; D4 boys represent

Pat Davey Photo Gallery - 137 action photos
SteveU Stories - Goethals leads a race for the ages - D4 Boys Represent - MORE TO COME

Left, Shannon Osika battles Megan Goethals for the lead at the 2M mark. Right, Stephen Walker heads the pack.  Photos Pat Davey

Great conditions = fast times and super battles

Stories by SteveU, Senior Editor DyeStat.com | ESPN RISE

With great upper-40s to mid-50s running conditions and a dry course, PRs were in abundance for runners at the MHSAA Michigan State Championships at MIS Speedway in Brooklyn MI Saturday.  Whether you were an individual qualifier or someone fighting for your team, you had a great chance to run fast.  No one took advantage of those conditions better than Megan Goethals.  The Rochester junior blazed to a 17:11 5K in the D1 girls race, needing almost every second to turn back the 17:18 PR effort by defending champ.  It was simply the best clocking ever in a state meet, not just since the meet moved to MIS in 1996.

But it was hardly the only story unfolding before thousands of fans who came and went throughout the day.  There was the D4 boys race in the morning, which lived up to the hype as four ran 15:31 or better and Tec Adams won with a superb front-running effort.  There was the D3 girls race, where Devan John repeated, but 2006 champ and 2007 runner-up Devyn Ramsey was the bridesmaid again and led her team to its first state title.

And there were the heavy-hitting D1 and D2 races in the afternoon, with Stephen Walker emerging as the fastest runner of the day with his D1 victory and Jordan Tomecek also impressing with her near-solo D2 girls effort.  Team-wise, there was the particularly notable efforts in D1 by Coach Lisa Taylor’s Traverse City Central girls, who finally made it to the top of the podium after many years of near misses, and Coach Don Sleeman’s Ann Arbor Pioneer boys, who returned to the top after 15 years.

for more ... see stories below


Team Champs:
  • D1 - Ann Arbor Pioneer boys 82 over Saginaw Heritage 145; Traverse City Central girls 129 over Grand Haven 148
  • D2 - Linden boys 59 over Vicksburg 174; East Grand Rapids girls 98 over Grand Rapids Christian 166
  • D3 - Shepherd boys 117 over Hillsdale 121; Benzie Central girls 91 over Leslie 120
  • D4 - Potterville boys 129 over Adrian Lenawee Christian 131; Harbor Springs 91 over Manton 103

D1 Highlights
  • Rochester jr Megan Goethals sets an all-class, all-course state meet record 17:11 to take D1 girls by seven seconds over Waterford Mott soph Shannon Osika.
  • Michigan top-ranked MW#9 Traverse City Central girls use a 38-second 1-5 spread to take the D1 girls team title with 129 points (Grand Haven 148)
  • MI #1 and MW#9 Ann Arbor Pioneer boys also use a tight group - 30 seconds for 1-5 - to win their D1 race, scoring 82 (Saginaw Heritage 145)
  • Midland Dow sr Stephen Walker runs 15:19, best time of the day, to take the D1 race by four seconds over Troy jr Mike Atchoo.
D2 Highlights
  • Milan jr Jordan Tomecek dominates the girls field en route to a 17:41 triumph, 14 seconds ahead of Middleville Thornapple-Kellogg soph Allyson Winchester - with the rest of the field 26 seconds further back.  Tomecek's time is the 6th-best of the day and the best-ever for D2/Class B.
  • The East Grand Rapids girls put three in the top 10 (team scoring), led by Lauren Grunewald, and roll to victory with 98 points, 68 ahead of Grand Rapids Christian.  Just two points back of GRC was Williamston, which moved up from D3.
  • Grand Rapids Kenowa Hills jr Reed Kamyszek takes a big lead and holds on for victory in 15:33, two seconds ahead of Mattawan sr Jeff MacMillan.
  • Linden boys confirm their season-long dominance, scoring 59 points for the most decisive victory of the, a whopping 115 points ahead of Vicksburg.  Linden won every spot, starting with the 2-3 of Jake Hord and Brad Ferrara, putting a 3rd in the top 10, and putting five in the top 30 with a 39-second spread.  Their total team time of the day was 2nd only to D1 champ Ann Arbor Pioneer and ahead of each other division winner and all of the other D1 teams.
D3 Highlights
  • Allendale jr Devan John in D3 (18:07) won her second straight title, pulling away from 2007 runner-up/2006 champ Devyn Ramsey in the final mile.
  • Led by Ramsey, 7th-place Michaela Carnegie (team scoring), and three other strong scorers, Benzie Central girls claimed their 1st title with 91 points, 29 ahead of Leslie.  John's Allendale team was 3rd, just two points back of Leslie.
  • Grand Rapids West Catholic sr Tony Schafer pulled away in the last half-mile to win in 15:24, five seconds up on Harrison junior Blake Allison.
  • Shepherd won a tight battle with Hillsdale that went down to the fifth man, finally prevailing 117-121.
D4 Highlights
  • Harbor Springs sr Tec Adams burst out into the lead and hung on for a D4 boys record 15:23, leading the best D4/Class D field ever.  In a division with a previous all-time state meet best of 15:30, Mt. Pleasant Sacred Heart sr Kevin Oblinger (15:26), Saugatuck sr Christian Birky (15:30) and Concord jr Kyle Stacks (15:31) all beat or came close to the record.
  • Potterville boys put three in the top 13 (team scoring) and held on to score 129 and beat Adrian Lenawee Christian by two, with Harbor Springs a close 3rd at 145.
  • Mt. Pleasant Sacred Heart jr Bridget Bennett claimed the D4 title in 18:37, 12 seconds ahead of Saranac jr Melinda Palinkas, with defending champ and North Muskegon soph Lindsay Neal 3rd in 18:52.
  • Harbor Springs girls used their depth and versatility to win their first title with 91 points, 12 up on Manton.

Midwest Index