Eastern States
Saturday - October 15
Van Cortlandt Park, New York City

Boys Eastern States Championships

Girls Fordham Eastern States

2.5 miles

Formerly SE-ranked Oakton VA boys put together a great effort to beat 19 teams to win the Eastern States Championships with 106 points.  LaSalle NY was second with 122, followed by SE#3 Jefferson VA (141) and NE#9 Cardinal O'Hara (166) in third and fourth, respectively. Oakton was led by James Phillips in 3rd (12:54), returning from an injury hiatus.  Overall, it was Steve Duplinsky of Georgetown Prep winning in 12:38 to Thomas of O'Hara's 12:45.

Unranked Pope John NJ won the Fordham Eastern States girls A race with 59 points to SE#2 Oakton's 82. Hergis led Pope John in first in 14:49, while Oakton was led by Kayley Byrne in 4th in a time of 15:36. Oakton was missing top-five runner Carly Hudson.

Boys Eastern State Championships

Oakton (VA)   106
LaSalle   122
Thomas Jefferson  (VA)  141
O'Hara  166
Pope John  182
Manchester  199
Farrell  203
Kellenberg  250
Bonner  263
Georgetown Prep 295
(out of 20 teams)
S.Duplinsky   Georgetown Prep    12:38
G.Thomas   O'Hara  12:45
J.Phillips  Oakton  12:54
D.Lewis   Farrell  12:58
J.Ennis  W.windsor   12:59
M Paulson  Manchester  13:01
A.LaMastro   Pope John  13:02
K.Stapleton  Curtis   13:07
A Hall   Manchester  13:08
Girls  A race
Pope John(NJ)   59
Oakton (VA)   82
Haddonfield (NJ)  88
Lake Braddock (VA) 138
Thomas Jefferson (VA)  159
O'Hara (PA) 170
Westfield (VA)  179
Carroll  226
Ursuline (NY) 241
Notre Dame  264
Shawnee  272
Holy Angels  282
O'Connell (VA)   314
Kelenberg  323
North Shore   410
Washingtonville   495
Petrides    538
L.Hergis   Pope John    14:49
V.Wright   Haddonfield   15:19
K. Malmquist  Kellenberg  15:30
K.Byrne   Oakton  15:36
A.Deegan   Westfield  15:40
S. Reaves  Thomas Jefferson 15:44
Northeast Region Index page

is published by
Student Sports

John Dye - founder and editor in chief
Marc Davis - senior editor
Steve Underwood - senior editor
Donna Dye - features editor
Rich Gonzalez - DyeStatCal co-editor
Doug Speck - DyeStatCal co-editor
Kirsten O'Hara - business and marketing manager