HOME US News States
Ohio 2003 Cross Country

3rd Midwest
Meet of Champions

Sep 6, 2003 at Hilliard OH - hosted by Davidson Hilliard HS
a DyeStat featured meet with on-site coverage

ROC Results: Boys - Girls

| Donna on the Side - dozens of sideline scenes | Entries | Schedule | Prior Years | Dyestat Elite marks |
ROC Pix and Quotes:
| Boys - "I just want to break 15," says Christian Wagner.
| Girls - "I just felt really awesome," says Alissa McKaig

Gentlemen, start your engines! (Midwest Meet of Champions, at Hilliard OH)

Winners: Christian Wagner, Alissa McKaig, Milford MI boys, Rockford MI girls

Boys Race of Champions
Columbus North IN sr Christian Wagner dominated the individual race, but US#7 Milford MI had a tighter pack to win with 55 points (2-3-9-15-26), 41 ahead of US#10 Columbus North (1-10-21-27-37). Jeff See's fourth place paced Midwest #6 Middletown OH 125 in third place. 
Columbis North IN sr Christian Wagner
Seth Thibodeau (right), Dan Derusha lead Milford
Girls Race of Champions
Concordia Fort Wayne sr Alissa McKaig was a decisive winner, and the powerful 1-2 punch of freshman Rachel Wittum and senior Nikki Bohnsack led US# 5 Rockford MI to the team title with 99 points (2-4-24-31-38), 33 ahead of Chesterton IN. The host team, US#6 Davidson Hilliard OH, was missing 3 varsity runners due to injuries and finished well back.  
Concordia Fort Wayne sr Alissa McKaig
Rachel Wittum (right), Nikki Bohnsack (left) lead Rockford
Milford MI 55, Christian Wagner IN 15:14
Rockford MI 99, Alissa McKaig IN 17:55
Open:  Columbus North 15, John Thayer 16:58 Open: Clarkston MI 23, Anna Kerr 20:49
 Fr-Soph: Trinity KY 40, Luke Kinne 17:34  Fr-Soph: Colerain OH 24, Danielle Meiners 20:31

DyeStat Elite - performances qualifying for DyeStat Elite top 100 national ranking

Time Dist Runner
15:14 5k Wagner, Christian 2004, Columbus N. IN
15:28 5k Thibodeaux, Seth 2004, Milford MI
15:30 5k Derusha, Dan 2004, Milford MI
15:39 5k See, Jeff 2005, Middletown OH
15:45 5k Voss, Dustin 2004, Saline MI
15:49 5k Kyle, Jordan , Hamilton SE OH
15:51 5k McCann, Andrew 2005, Lexington KY
15:56 5k Veatch, Michael 2004, Middletown OH
15:58 5k Anderson, Mike , Milford MI

17:55 5k McKaig, Alissa 2004, Concordia FtWayne IN
18:07 5k Wittum, Rachel 2007, Rockford MI
18:16 5k Schueler, Maddie 2004, Sacred Heart KY
18:18 5k Bohnsack, Nikki 2004, Rockford MI
18:22 5k Grabinski, Marie , Carmel IN
18:25 5k Keefer, Casey 2006, Lakota East OH
18:26 5k Peller, Cassie 2004, Chesterton IN
18:28 5k Mitchell, Adele 2005, Concordia FtWayne IN
18:46 5k Infeld, Maggie 2004, Beaumont CleveHts OH
18:49 5k Ballinger, Mary , Chesterton IN
18:51 5k Canty, Lisa , Milford MI
18:53 5k Miles, Alex , St. Joseph Acad
18:55 5k Rauen, Carolyn 2004, Turpin Cinci OH
18:57 5k Creutz, Eileen 2006, Saline MI
19:01 5k Eckerly, Julie 2004, Columbus N. IN
19:05 5k Manck, Sarah , Concordia FtW IN

Davidson Hilliard coach Pat Schlecht's idea of starting the season with matchups of the top ranked Midwestern teams of the year before is catching on fast. This year will be the biggest meet of the three. Schlecht wanted to toughen up his own teams with strong outside competition. That paid off last year as his boys were ranked 4th in the US by The Harrier, and his girls were ranked 12th. They swept the Ohio Division 1 team titles, first time one school ever did that.

Teams Entered

The meet has expanded to 23 teams this year, with new teams from Kentucky and West Virginia to go with Ohio, Michigan, and Indiana. Many of The Harrier's top ranking teams and top runners are entered:

Host Davidson Hilliard OH (US#6 girls), Beaumont OH (Maggie Infeld), Carmel IN, Cathedral IN, Chesterton IN, Colerain OH, Turpin OH (defending girls champion Carolyn Rauen), Clarkston MI, US#10 boys Columbus North IN (2003 AOC 2-mile champion Christian Wagner), Concordia IN, Elkins WV, Hamilton Southeastern IN, Lakota East OH, US#21 boys LaSalle Cincinnati OH, US#16 boys Middletown OH (Jeff See, who broke Alan Webb's sophomore class record for the mile last year), US#7 boys Milford MI, US#5 girls Rockford MI (Foot Locker finalist Nikki Bohnsack), South #7 girls Sacred Heart Academy KY (Foot Locker finalist Maddie Schueler), St. Xavier OH, Taylor OH, Trinity KY, St. Joseph's Academy OH, Saline MI (DMR champion at AOC Raleigh last June), and Paul Laurence Dunbar KY

Carmel IN's Foot Locker finalist Katie Harrington will miss the meet because she recently had arthroscopic surgery on her right knee to remove the plica band. She is expected to return to competition in 2 weeks.

Prior Years


left, Nef Araia IN launched an outstanding senior campaign by winning MMOC for the second straight year; he ended it by finishing fourth in the Foot Locker nationals in San Diego. Nef will run for Stanford this year.

below, Carolyn Rauen OH was the girls winner. She should return this year with her Turpin Cincinnati team.

  • 2001 - the inaugural


9:00am Frosh/Soph Boys

9:30am Girls MOC

10:00am Boys MOC

10:30 Frosh/Soph Girls

11:00am Girls Open

11:30 Boys Open

DyeStat US


is published by
John Dye

Baltimore MD