HOME US News States
Kansas 2003 cross country
Kansas Week
through Oct 4

by Anthony Bozarth

| Bishop Miege | Newton | Emporia | Shawnee Heights | Topeka Hayden | Baldwin |

Olathe East sweeps Bishop Miege Inv. Shawnee Mission South sr Connie Abbott, defending Kansas 6A champion, edges Pembroke Hill's Hillary Foreman, defending 2A champ, 11:50 to 11:52 2m. Paul Hefferon and Trisa Nickoley win at Shawnee Heights. Baldwin boys beat Lawrence Free State at Topeka Hayden.

Saturday 10/4

Bishop Miege Invitational @ Miege HS, Roeland Park

Olathe East swept both the boys and girls varsity's at the 18 team Miege Invitational run on a gloriusly sunny, cool Saturday morning perfect for cross country.
The girls varsity division began fast and furious with three state champions (Connie Abbott-SM South, defending KS 6A champ; Hillary Foreman, Kansas City MO Pembroke Hill, defending MO 2A champ; Alysha Galbraith-Olathe South 2000 KS 6A champ) sprinting hard for the lead, accompanied by KC MO St. Teresa's Maureen Healy. Olathe East packed six runners into the top twenty by the 800 mark to take command of the team race. As the field ran into the hills of the historic Shawnee Indian Mission, Abbott and Foreman opened a gap on Galbraith. In the long finishing stretch Abbott held on for an 11:50 win over Foremen (11:52). Galbraith held on for third (12:02). Ashli Kelso (Olathe East) was fourth in 12:29, while Healy finished fifth in 12:30. Caitlyn Klinzman (SM South 12:31), Bridget Moran (St. Teresa 12:36), Amanda Miller (Olathe East 12:39), Kelsy Long (Miege 12:40) and Brittany Tracz (Olathe North 12:40) rounded out the top 10.
Team wise Olathe East (#6 6A) ran a 42 second split, packing six runners into the top 19 to score 46 points for the team win. SM South was second with 84, and St. Teresa third with 100. Bishop Miege (105), Pembroke Hill MO (122), Olathe North (136), DeSoto (157), Blue Valley (187), DeSoto Mill Valley (204) and KC MO O' Hara rounded out the top 10 teams.
In the boys varsity division, cross-district rivals Casey Johnson (DeSoto) and Jon Matlack (Mill Valley) staged a shoulder-to-shoulder duel over the 5k course that wasn't decided until the final 50 yards. Johnson won in 16:25, edging Matlack's 16:26. Mike Partridge (Olathe South) was third at 16;51, with Adam Hauser (Miege) fourth at 16:54, and Olathe North's Matt Seifert fifth at 16:57. James Swartz led Olathe East to the team title in sixth at 17;01, with Mike Ivanuska (Blue Valley 17:02), Josh Wayland (Olathe South 17:07), Donnie Gardner (DeSoto 17:07), and Jesse Moore (Kansas City Turner 17;07) rounding out the top 10.
In the team race Olathe East and Olathe South (tied for #9 in 6A rankings) dueled for the team title. South placed four runners in the top 18, but East used a 22 second split and five runners in the top 17 to win the title 64 to 80. SM South was third with 125, with Bishop Miege fourth at 127. Blue Valley (136), Kansas City MO Park Hill South (136), DeSoto (148), DeSoto Mill Valley (160), Olathe North (187) and Pembroke Hill (206) completed the top ten.

Newton Invitational
Morgan Bonds (Hutchinson) continued to dominate central Kansas racing, winning the Newton Invitational in 12:04. Melissa Ortiz, last year's 5A state runner-up, was second in 12:17, with Lauren Bonds (Hutchinson) third at 12:24. Natasha Esau (Buhler 12:38) and Misty Bannion (El Dorado 12:39) completed the top five. El Dorado (#4 4A) placed all five scorers in the top fifteen to win the team title with 39, and Newton edged Buhler on the pusher for second, each scoring 53.
Buhler's Ross Wildin continued his undefeated season with a late kick to win in 16;27. Ande Jorgenson (Hutchinson 16:34) and Nick Nowack (McPherson 16;34) were the early pace setters, Jorgenson just edging Nowack for second. Newton (39) won the boys title with Buhler (49) second and Salina South (64) third.

Emporia Invitational
Emporia's boys, ranked #2 in 6A, completely dominated their home invitational at Jones Park. The Spartans scored a sweep and more, finishing in the top seven spots. Michael Knickerbocker won in 16;07 over the fast 5k, with Nick Garcia (16;17), Brock Ternes (16:49), Marcus Delgado (16;54), and Jorge Escobar (16;54) scoring fifteen. Lawrence High (#8 6A) was second with 50 points.
The Lawrence girls (#6 6A) scored 24 to win the girls title from Emporia (50). Megan Johnson won for Lawrence in 15;19 over a fast 4k. Jordan Schelling (Emporia 15:34) was second and Meg Gentry (Lawrence) third in 15:34.

Shawnee Heights Invitational @ Lake Shawnee, Topeka
Paul Hefferon continued to roll through Kansas cross country and led Blue Valley West to a boy's team title at the Shawnee Heights Invitational. Hefferon ran 15:57 over a rolling 5k course, winning by over a minute. Alex Vickers (Topeka High) was second at 17:00, edging SM West's David Zack (17:02). Matt Vinson (Leavenworth 17;11) and Darren Volkel (Manhattan 17:22) completed the top five. Teamwise Blue Valley West scored 51, with Topeka High second (78), with Leavenworth (85) shading SM West (89) for third.
Trisa Nickoley of host Shawnee Heights won, running the 2 mile course in 12:06. Taryn Many (Blue Valley Northwest) was second at 12:16, with Claire Vandewalle (BVNW) third at 12:48. Ashley Davin (Shawnee Heights 12:53) and Heather Klotz (Leavenworth 12:53) were fourth and fifth. Blue Valley Northwest used it's up-front strength to win the girls title with 58, with Manhattan second at 72 and Topeka High third at 79.

Thursday 10/2/03

Topeka Hayden Invitational @ Stateland Cross Country Course

An impressive mix of some of eastern Kansas' top schools produced intense racing at the rolling hills of Stateland. Baldwin, seven-time defending 4A state champ, and top ranked this year, edged #4 6A Lawrence Free State for the boys title, while Aquinas (#3 6A) stunned the girls field with 28 points.
In the girls 2 mile, Free State's Alysha Valencia took command early and powered away to an 11:40 triumph. Katie Coomer led Aquinas in second with an 11:56, while Baldwin's Erica Ogle was third in 12:05, Alyssa Belinder (Aquinas) fourth in 12:18 and Rachel Dent (Aquinas) fifth at 12:20, edgin Sara Conrow of Topeka Washburn Rural, also 12:20. Aquinas, running what one coach described as "the best race by a Kansas team this year", placed five runners in the top ten, running to an easy team title. Baldwin was second with 50 points, while Washburn Rural was third with 96 and Lawrence Free State fourth with 112.
Grant Cain of Topeka Seaman continued to grow into a state contender in his first season of cross country. Cain, who played football last year, ran over the hills to a solid 16:19 5k win. Nick Squier and Danny Schneider ran 1-2 for Free State in 16;31 and 16:32. Brian Gerstner led Baldwin in fourth at 16:35, followed by team-mate Keith Cowart (fifth at 16;41). Baldwin won the boys title with 47 points, with Free State second at 59. Aquinas was third with 62, edging Topeka Seaman (76).

USATF Invitational @ Baldwin

Kristin Wolkey (SM North) cruised to a 15:28 4k win at the Baldwin City Golf Course. Rebecca Ingraham (15;42) and Katie Davis (15:44) ran 2-3 to pace #1 6A SM Northwest to a 26-55 win over Carthage MO, with SM North a close third with 56.
Tucker Weems ran to a 31 second victory with a 16:16 5k win, and led nine SM Northwest harriers home in the top 10. SM Northwest, the defending 6A boys champ, won an easy victory with 16 points over SM North (60).

DyeStat Kansas



is published by
John Dye

Baltimore MD